The Reason.

Austin Coley
Informal
2 min readDec 17, 2016

--

Before I send out a tweet, I always hesitate and ask myself if anyone cares that I think “the Titans need to take a corner and a middle linebacker with their first two first-round picks this year”, “Creed was the best movie of the Rocky franchise (closely followed by Rocky IV of course)”, or “How was the idea of a Christmas tree created? Like let’s cut down that big green tree outside and put it in our living room to celebrate Christmas…”.

Okay, I actually did tweet that last one, but the point is I’m always conscious of how my outburst will be received. I don’t press send on a tweet unless I know it has a chance to impact others in some way.

But I do have an opinion about everything I come in to contact with, as does every other person on earth. I may be more opinionated about Jesus, the economy, and the usefulness of a well located fastball than books, cooking, and fashion, but that is the beauty of living life. Each one of us has the ability to pick and choose what we want to pursue and how we approach this pursuit. That is what truly differentiates us from one another.

This is why I approached Sam Lewis about creating this publication. Each of us has a different expertise, and we should have a medium to share these opinions and theories with the world. My ultimate vision for this publication is to encompass a vast amount of categories through the eyes of people who live their lives in them. That is the appeal of “informal”, we promise we will write about what we feel most strongly about, with no rules or hidden agenda.

If you’re interested in following our journey and reading articles written by passionate, refreshing writers, we encourage you to follow us on Twitter @informalUS and here on Medium.

Lastly, we’re currently in the process of searching for writers who are interested in sharing their expertise and opinions. If you think writing for “informal” sounds like you, send us an email at informalpublication@gmail.com.

--

--

Austin Coley
Informal

Saved by Christ. Married to @chloe_coley. Pitcher in the Pittsburgh Pirates organization. Belmont U alum. Former Slime Time Live star.