Page Views of Presidential Cantidates across the Board

Tyler
Fall 2023 — Information Expositions
3 min readNov 13, 2023

For the third module assignment of Information Expositions we are tasked with going through wikidata to find a correlation with something that is current and tell a story about it. When I first went through this assignment I was stumped for a bit on what current event I would look into. I started to look at the Israel, palestine conflict. Then after getting stuck and frustrated I moved onto looking at artists and how many awards they have won but that did not get me too far and there seemed to not be a lot of supporting data. So I finally decided to go with page views of presidential candidates. It was unbiased. I used current runners and also searched one past president to see if there was anything interesting from that. So I start off first looking into what came up when you searched up a specific candidate. This is where I would get all the information such as the revid, parentid, user, and userid all these things. But when I ran into earlier I was focusing on the comment because I thought it was interesting to see what was in the article. That hang up is what had been stuck earlier on with looking into the artist. But once I did that I was able to see the length of articles. For Donald Trump there were forty one thousand three hundred and ninety six rows. For Joe Biden he had eleven thousand five hundred and seventy six rows. A very big difference in articles and pages between the two. As for right now the polls are showing these two with the most support from their party and the people. Vivek Ramaswamy only had one thousand seven hundred and twenty seven rows. But with the democratic nominee Dean Phillips he was also on the low side with five hundred and seventy one rows. The third democratic person I chose was Obama not a candidate but he is in the party and I was wondering how page views would be since his vice president is in office. Obama had twenty nine thousand and three hundred sixteen page views but his biggest spike was in 2019. The others have spikes a little more recently for Trump and Biden they have similar spikes throughout, but Trumps are a lot higher than everyone else. Someone who was a democratic candidate but recently switched to independent is Robert F Kennedy. He has had three thousand five hundred and twenty three page views recently with his graph showing that he has had a major spike in the past few months. I also looked into Mike Pence, Donald Trump’s vice president. He has recently dropped out of the race, but he had a page view of 4 thousand eight hundred and twenty seven views. Something that I did not understand was on the individual graphs that I made for each candidate. For Obama the Y axis. The views went up by two hundred this could mean it is going up by two hundred thousand. The reason I thought this was because some of the others are shown in the hundreds of thousands but some are single digits. The graphs are all at the same scale so it is interesting. But the total page views of trump was forty three thousand three hundred and ninety six that is by far the most. It is also just below all the other candidates added up, with Obama it is forty three thousand and ten and without him it is thirteen thousand six hundred and ninety four. But then I took all the data of all the candidates and put it all together in one scatter plot. Obviously we learned earlier that Trump has the most views. He peaked in late 2016 and in early 2021 with no one close to him. But in late 2023 Vivek Ramaswamy had the highest score. All the points are different colors to differentiate from one another. But to show Trump has a lot of views still, this can come from many different things. First he is running again for president and he was a recent president. The indictments may also play into this as well.

--

--