WRITING TOOLS

Grammarly Is Trying To Turn Us All Into AI Bots

Overreliance on the tool can ruin your writing as much as bad grammar

Charles Bastille
Ink & Tears
Published in
9 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Image of robotic looking head of woman laying down with her eyes wide open but staring unexpressively into the space in front of her.
Photo by Transly Translation Agency on Unsplash

“The word calvary doesn’t seem to fit this context. Consider replacing it with a different one.”

“What?” I replied to Grammarly in an annoyed voice. “It looks fine to me. Horses… Cavalry. Ohhhhh.”

I had originally written:

He arrived with a heavily armored calvary

Grammarly nailed it. The way I originally wrote it, I was saying that he arrived with a heavily armed place of crucifixion. Oops.

So I’ll begin by saying that Grammarly started life as a useful tool. I had made a simple spelling mistake. But it was a sneaky bad one. It would have eluded my old eyes for eternity. It may have eluded a good editor’s eyes, too.

As a software developer, I have been impressed with this software since its release several years ago. As a writer, same.

But something has changed. Somebody got hold of the AI tradewinds and decided to wreak havoc on a good thing (when I worked in the software biz, we called these people product managers, and they never got invited to the good parties).

--

--

Charles Bastille
Ink & Tears

Author of MagicLand & Psalm of Vampires. Follow me on BlueSky: https://bsky.app/profile/charlesbastille.bsky.social. All stories © 2020-24 by Charles Bastille