Life Musings

Christmas Day Reflections

On nature and solitude

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder
Published in
4 min readDec 25, 2021

--

author’s own image

I got up at 6:30 am this morning, on Christmas day. Not unusual, I normally get up around this time on the weekends. And I enjoy the few hours of peace and quiet and alone time before my husband wakes up around 9:30–10.

I did my usual daily yoga and meditation this morning and now I’ve been sitting on the couch looking out the window at the rare white Christmas we have today! It doesn’t snow much here on the West Coast of Canada in the winter. We might get a tiny bit (at least where I live) but it’s gone within the day usually. It’s not very much today either, but I’ll take it. At least my husband and I have no plans to go anywhere for the next 4 days.

author’s own image

The one downside is we no longer have a dog that we can go for a walk with in the snow. Yes, I know we can go by ourselves, but taking a dog for a walk in the snow is something special. Especially if you have a dog that loves the snow! Our border collie Bailey was always hilarious in the snow. Penny, who we just lost last week, was ambivalent. She was probably like ‘wtf is this cold white stuff? I’m from Mexico, you know! Where’s my sun and warmth!’

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦