SPOTLIGHT: Bluebird Running

Trail & Ultra Runner Zach Gonzalez raises funds for his brand Bluebird Running — which connects communities with the grit-building trails of El Paso, Texas.

Kid Ink
Ink to the People
3 min readFeb 22, 2018

--

We reached out to Zach Gonzalez, who continually uses InkToThePeople.com to create campaigns around his brand Bluebird Running — connecting the community and raising awareness of grit-building trails across El Paso, Texas.

Where did your passion for running come from?

I’ve been active most of my life since I was a child. I started playing soccer in kindergarten and found I could run faster and longer than the other players without getting tired. Coaches would often play me as a rover because I could run back and forth easily throughout games and catch opposing players from behind. I continued playing soccer and ran a bit when my older brother got involved with track and field. In seventh grade I ran the mile and mile relay, which were back to back races.

Later in my twenties I got more involved with road and trail running along with races. I ran the Houston half and full marathons when I lived in Houston, Texas for several years. I got even more seriously involved in trail and ultra running due to work related stress and marital problems while living in Flagstaff, AZ. I then moved from Houston to Farmington, NM where I enjoyed running on the Navajo reservation with the running club in nearby Durango, CO. I eventually moved back to El Paso, Texas last year and have been running in the Franklin Mountains ever since.

The trail scene here is just getting started. I’m thrilled to promote trail running because the trails are technical and require lots of grit. I live with depression and love running just for the sake of it plus it helps keep me happy and feeling alive.

What drove you to create a campaign?

Since I began running seriously while in Houston I’ve had the dream of owning my own running store. The runs I’m starting now are born of that dream; this includes the fundraising shirts with your company. I work full time and don’t have the money to invest in opening my own store. The name Bluebird Running is an homage to the Navajo Nation. Bluebird Flour is widely used to make fry bread and Navajo tortillas — which is sold in reusable cloth bags instead of paper or plastic.

What’s next for you?

I have a background in art and thoroughly enjoy designing the shirts. I plan to continue putting on organized runs to highlight the wonderful El Paso trails, people and mountains. I started running with groups while living in Houston in order to get to know the town, socialize and improve my speed. I currently run with Team RWB El Paso, logging Charity Miles for the national association. I believe in giving back and helping others and I’m able to do that through my love of running.

Check out the link here to learn more / support his campaign: inktothepeople.com/bluebird-running

--

--

Kid Ink
Ink to the People

Documenting people who spread their message with ink!