Gratitude Letter to Medicine

Lara da Rocha
Innards
Published in
2 min readJul 26, 2021
Photo by Oluwaseyi Johnson on Unsplash

I wrote this poem during a one-week stay at the hospital in November 2020.

Thank you, doctors
For studying all those years to become competent at a job I could never do.
You make my Ph.D. look like child’s play.

Thank you, nurses
For not giving up on the video game that is your job
Constantly having to be available for patients
Whether for resuscitation
Or fetching a glass of water.

Thank you, people who have to do and say
The same shit every single day
Always with a smile on your faces.

Thank you, little machine that’s making my lungs unfold.
I can feel them fill up with more fresh air than ever before.

Thank you, anesthesia and painkillers.
Life is so much better when you’re around.

Thank you, life signal monitors
Beeping at the slightest issue.
You feel like an overprotective robot mother.

Thank you, hospital food.
I love you so much!
Whenever you come, my stomach growls.
You’re simple but efficient.
Simple flavors for a simple body.

Thank you, all-mighty hospital wifi
Available for all to enjoy
Free of password hassles or network limitations.

Thank you, taxpayers’ money
For paying for my defective body
Many times the contributions I’ve made in my short working life.

Thank you, Medicine of 2020
For the amazing progress you’ve done
Keeping so many of us all alive and out of pain.
Thanks to you, this has been a great day for me.
Alone with my thoughts in my hospital room,
Connected to a tube to help my lungs breathe,
I’ve never felt more alive.

Do you have a story about a health condition or medical procedure? One of those you tell people at parties, and everyone bursts out laughing at your misfortune? Or maybe one of those you’ve never shared with fear of being a downer? We would love to hear it! Contribute to Innards, and join the team.

--

--

Lara da Rocha
Innards

Writer | MWC Semi-finalist | Improviser | Data Analyst | She/Her. I convert my bad luck into stories (to convince myself there is a point to any of this).