Offscreen Mag

Colton Hathaway
Inner Geek
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2015

Why I read “Where the magic happens” first…

The task

Every month, Inner Geek does something called a “personal development day.” It allows the geeks to explore tasks, tools, and techniques that they might not be able to on every day client projects. We find this to be extremely valuable as it allows us to stay on the bleeding edge of technology.

Last month, I asked the team to read one of my various copies of Offscreen. I wanted them to find inspiration in the magazine; a physical place, rather than a website, for a change.

Why Offscreen

We are both the creators and users of software. We are surrounded by it. I believe that, every once in a while, it is critical to step away from our digital world and find inspiration in the real world. Since Offscreen is essentially a real world excerpt from digital creatives’ lives, it’s a good first step to this.

My favs

I’m a bit of a Offscreen hipster and have been collecting copies of Offscreen since their 3rd issue (desparately trying to get my hands on Issues 1 & 2). As soon as I get a new issue, I head straight for the “Where the magic happens” section.

Essentially, this section showcases some amazing digital creative spaces from around the world. Notable featured companies include Twitter, Shopify, Stripe, Facebook, Microsoft, Soundcloud, and more.

Here’s a few snapshots…

Stripe
Open Table & Wotif
Twitter
Envato & YouTube Creator Space

Why it’s magic to me

I love seeing how other creative people find inspiration in their work places. We spend more time in the office than we do sleeping or playing, so it’s critical that office environments are beautiful and functional.

How it’s shaped our space

When we were designing our HQ, I often referenced these Offscreen issues for inspiration. Those that have visited our space might notice similarities between the envato space (pictured above) and ours? Thanks envato!

How it’s shaping our future

Of course, we’re not as big or as well known as some of the companies featured in this section, but they all started small and grew over time. By reviewing these spaces, it gives us a vision for the future; a vision on where we could go. It drives me to be more creative, and more focused.

Often, this is where I find inspiration and passion; Offscreen.

Huge kudos and thank you to Kai Brach for doing such an excellent job with Offscreen.

--

--

Colton Hathaway
Inner Geek

Tech entrepreneur with a never-ending drive for personal and professional experience, connection, and growth. Director of Production at Northern Commerce.