PHOTOGRAPHS

nandanivansoffthewalls
Inner-net
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2020

Nostalgia is quintessential as I dig through the rabbit hole of colourfully printed cards on which the still figures of my own self, though more alive and iconic of that moment; yet as ancient and stuck up of its occurrence. It holds a story; story of me and story of life. The story which my heart can reminisce because I have lived it and I want to share it with the extended part of me, with who I associate that photograph with. Needless to say, there’s low key happiness flowing through me yet at the same time there's a sudden wave of nostalgia that makes me soppy. These photographs have let me be a part of those umpteen events I so joyfully exclaim “Memories!” That upholds every significant moment of my life that I have been a part of, and either enhanced it or catalyzed it, yet it has overwhelmed me, shaped me and changed me.

As I flip through every page of my album, where I very particularly, neatly preserved my photographs which represents the timeline of my life and how every moment I chose to capture left a deep imprint on my life, which only that one photograph could justify and express.

As I dig deeper I feel my heart melting yet making me comfortably warm, because these photographs are one of the the “things” that defy materialism to be something as pure to be even compared to. I feel my heart shattering because it does ruthlessly also show me how everything I lived before is as ancient as my innocence and I cannot relive it, yet there is one part of that moment I so preciously saved but is trapped in that photograph which makes me weak.

It also dawns on me, how I also saved someone’s life, by capturing what was so close to them back then and how each photograph holds so much more than just a story. As I scan each and every photograph that I have so messily spread on the wooden floor, it unknowingly tears me up and ironically fills the void in the same heart it broke. It flashes right in front of my eyes, how so many moments in my life have I decided to save in these photographs and how million others have slipped by which would be even greater and these photographs are the version which reminds me of every emotion I have felt, every moment I have lived, even the version I was and most importantly the choice I made that lead me to save that moment.

As I carefully stack up my photographs which represent the most celebrated vignettes of my life which showcase the myriad experiences that made the timeline of my life, added value to my story and lastly it showed the stillness in every motif despite the chaos at that moment.

--

--