My Personal Journey with Ho’oponopono and How It Can Help You Too

Shazzad Shoikat
InnerEvolution
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2023

Have you ever heard of Ho’oponopono? I stumbled upon this Hawaiian practice a few years ago and it has helped me tremendously with my personal growth, mental health, and relationships. Ho’oponopono is a powerful tool that can help you take responsibility for your own life and heal any old wounds. In this blog post, I want to share my personal experiences with this practice and how it can benefit you too.

What is Ho’oponopono?
Ho’oponopono is an ancient Hawaiian practice of reconciliation and forgiveness. The word Ho’oponopono means “to make things right” and “to correct errors”. It is based on the belief that everything in the world is connected and that we are responsible for our own reality. Ho’oponopono involves four simple phrases that you can say silently or out loud to heal yourself and any relationships you may have.

My personal experience with Ho’oponopono
I was introduced to Ho’oponopono by a friend who knew I was struggling with anxiety and some unresolved issues from the past. At first, I was skeptical about it, but after a few weeks of practicing it, I started to notice some improvements in my life. I felt more at peace and able to let go of negative emotions. I also noticed some positive changes in my relationships with family and friends.

How to practice Ho’oponopono
To practice Ho’oponopono, you simply need to say the following four phrases sincerely and with intention: “I’m sorry, please forgive me, thank you, I love you”. You can say them to yourself, to a particular person, or to the Universe. The important thing is to genuinely feel the phrases and allow them to work their magic.

Benefits of practicing Ho’oponopono
The benefits of practicing Ho’oponopono are numerous. It can help you let go of old emotions and beliefs that may be holding you back. It can also help you heal past wounds and improve your relationships with others. Ho’oponopono can increase your self-awareness and self-love, which can lead to more fulfilling life experiences.

How to incorporate Ho’oponopono into your daily routine
Incorporating Ho’oponopono into your daily routine is easy. You can say the phrases silently or out loud whenever you feel the need to. You can also set aside a few minutes each day to practice formally. Some people like to do it in the morning or at night before bed. I personally find that doing it throughout the day whenever I feel triggered or upset works best for me.

Ho’oponopono is a simple yet powerful practice that can help you take responsibility for your own life and create positive changes in your relationships and mental health. By saying the four simple phrases sincerely and with intention, you can heal old wounds and let go of negative emotions. I encourage you to give Ho’oponopono a try and see the positive impact it can have in your life. Remember, you are responsible for your own reality, and Ho’oponopono can help you make things right.

--

--