A Surprise In the Basement

General Zheng
The Innostation Publication
2 min readMar 1, 2024

2024, February 28

I found a shotgun in my basement, just today

To my surprise, it still wasn’t frozen

It felt so smooth, so cool when I pressed my hands on it

My very first treasure I found in the basement

My grandma told me not to go down these stairs

But I didn’t listen one bit

I wanted to see what Dad was doing with the cling and slamming down here

Perhaps using this gun was a part of his plan?

I don’t want to question at all

So I left the gun where it was and closed the freezer

Leaving the gun lying among the other iced-up foods

Ice cream, beef, chicken pot pie, and all kinds of bags lying around

My father loved me much, as much as my grandma did

And as they taught to say, my mom loved me too

But she died when I was a very young age due to cancer

“He was too young, never got to remember her face,” they said

But that’s quite a lie

I’ve seen her

I remember her face

She was just never shown to others

She’s always so quiet under the stairs

Her face was so pale

But she’s not in that corner today, unlike last week when I saw her

Because just now

I saw her face hidden behind the ice cream

Stuffed in a frozen plastic

To my surprise

She lies silently with a small black hole on her forehead

I found a shotgun in the basement, just right now

I wanted to leave it in the freezer as my grandma would’ve told me

But she’s not home today

Dad said that the police were having tea with her in their offices

So I took the gun upstairs, wanting to see what’s inside that makes such a blast

My dad was still asleep

And I tried my quietest to close the lights

Today I found a shotgun in the basement

And I crept up the stairs to my dad’s room

He still has the wedding on the wall

He said he loved my mom so very much

And having her in the basement is just another way for protection

And I loved my dad too

He said that putting my mom to rest is to give her comfort

But I love my mom too

And if he loves her so much too

And so I wonder

What would happen

When I raise the shotgun to my dad’s forehead

What would happen

If he saw Mom again

I wonder

Would it be a surprise to him that I love her too

And that’s it

That’s the end of the story, dear policeman.

I have no other words to speak

As you see,

Evidently,

I am still a child

And children don’t lie

--

--