Footsteps

Saara Sherazi
The Innostation Publication
2 min readJul 26, 2023

Seeing your footsteps,

Watching you walk into a future,

Where I don’t exist,

Where another girl is your world,

Where I am no more than a whisper across the cold, heavy air,

The fog between us thickens into walls,

Keeping us apart,

As you leave me here,

My screams for you to return going unheard,

The sound of your footsteps breaking me into a million pieces,

As I stumble towards you,

Tears falling down my cheeks,

Desperate tears,

Of pain,

Of love,

Of anguish,

Of loss,

The rain beating down on my back,

And on your umbrella,

That I gave you,

On a rainy day like today,

Where you came and told me,

That you loved me,

That you wished we could spend every minute together,

Where you said you wanted to give me the world.

If only I knew,

That you would give me the world,

And then,

With no warning,

Pull the world out from under me,

Take the umbrella I gave you,

Leave me here as I cry,

Not even look back,

To see me die behind you.

If only I knew,

That my feelings meant nothing to you,

That I was for ‘fun’,

That everything I said or did,

All of the effort we put in,

Meant nothing.

Maybe I was delusional,

Maybe I was crazy,

But your footsteps,

Walking away from me,

Leaving me alone,

Even after I said,

About how all my life,

I had been getting caught in the rain without an umbrella,

Until you came,

Walked with me,

Brought me an umbrella,

Held me,

Told me that you would never leave me,

Alone in the rain,

Gave me the world,

And now,

I stand here,

Alone in the rain,

Happiness just out of reach,

And your footsteps,

Pushing the world away from me.

--

--

Saara Sherazi
The Innostation Publication

Hi! I'm Saara, and I write stories about this and that. I'm into math, science, and all sorts! I'm the Editor-in-Chief at Innostation. Pleased to meet you!