How I removed CO2 from water

Alexandre Boutoille
The Innostation Publication
4 min readMay 10, 2022

25% of our World’s CO2 is found in our oceans. Although CO2 is essential to aquamarine life providing aquatic plants with nutrients in order to flourish when combined with macronutrients and light. When CO2 levels are too high fish may experience an oxygen deficiency causing them to gulp air. pH and/or KH levels will increase due to high CO2 levels in the water.

By replicating Asher Christiansen’s small-scale carbon capture project I was able to drastically reduce CO2 levels from water.

1. Planning

2. Preparation

3. Actuation

4. What I’ve Learned

5.What I would do differently

Planning

Before starting the complicated project, planning was a crucial step. I of course watched Asher’s video numerous times to fully grasp an understanding of the process. This included understanding the assembly and chemistry.

I then made a diagram to help me understand where each segnent interconnects.

To ensure a successful project, I set some goals on what to achieve after the final project.

  1. Incorporate a more technologically-advacned method of carbon sequestration
  2. Have the limewater turn cloudy
  3. Learn what to do better next time

Preparation

To produce my CO2, I used a solution of acetic acid and sodium bicarbonate. To contain the solution I used a 1 litre bottle with a 3/8" hole drilled through the cap. This allowed the 3/8" tubing to fit rather snuggly. I then ran the other end of the tubing through the top of the “Water Bubbler” made of a plastic tupperware container with a 3/8" hole drilled through the top.

I then added another length of 3/8" tubing from a 3/8" hole 4cm from the bottom right edge. At the end of that tube, I added a 180 degree valve with 2 male 1/4" ends. UH OH! I accidentally order the wrong sized valves. To acount for this I suround the valve’s male connectors with silicone for a water-tight seal. On the other end of the valve, I added silicone and another length of 3/8" tubing. The other length of that tube connected to the “Water Heater” made from another plastic tupperware container with a 3/8" hole drilled 4cm from the bottom left edge.

To finish it off, I drilled a 3/8" hole on top of the “Water Heater.” I then ran another length of 3/8" tubing from that hole to another valve. Just like the other valve, the 1/2" male connectros were the wrong size. This was once again resolved with silicone. I then added another 3/8" tube to the other end of the valve. The other end of that tube went into the “Limewater” made of another plastic tupperware container.

To heat the water I made a double boiler by placing the container in a pot of warm water.

Actuation

I first had to create CO2. To do so I made a mixture of a base which was sodium bicarbonate and acid which was diluted acetic acid. The water in the diluted acetic acid acted as a host for the base and acid to react. In the reaction, the sodium bicarbonate takes a proton from the acetic acid, and carbon dioxide is released. The gas then escaped out the top of the bottle and went into a container of water to dissolve with the water forming carbonic acid. The carbonic acid is a dibasic acid with the chemical formula H2CO3 that releases it’s CO2 at aroun 60 degrees celcius. To release the CO2, the carbonic acid was transferred to a separate container. It was then double-boiled to release the CO2 from the carbonic acid.

To test if CO2 was actually being removed. The gases were released into a solution of water and calcium hydroxide to form limewater. Limewater or calcium carbonate is a solution with the chemical formula Ca(OH)2.When the Ca(OH)2 is mixed with CO2, it forms CaCO3. CaCO3 has a cloudy white appearance. If CO2 was released the solution would turn cloudy.

What I’ve Learned

This solution would not be viable to reduce the CO2 concentration in oceans

  • The method requires the water to be heated to remove the CO2
  • Warming oceans would cause great environmental concerns
  • It would be very challenging and resource-intensive to warm up a large body of water

Lime water requires a higher than expected CO2 concentration to become visibly cloudy.

What I would do differently

Make the limewater even cloudier for a bolder demonstration

  • Reduce the quantity of limewater
  • More CO2

If you’ve enjoyed this article, I would love a follow and some claps. And if you’d like to learn more, here is a video of this project.

--

--