Love Me

General Zheng
The Innostation Publication
2 min readMar 1, 2024

2024, February 28

“Love me,” sang the dove,

“My feathers are the cleanest, and their feels are the finest.

All my gatherers of admirers line up from here all the way to Paris.

Love me.”

But I shook my head, declining her offer

“Your feathers are too long, and I do not like the color white.”

“Love me,” yelped the fox,

“My fur is the best of all skins, and my colors are so vibrantly vivid.

I don’t usually talk to others, but you can be an exception.

Love me.”

Sighing, refusing the delicate being

“I would love to sleep on your fur, but your body is too big for my heart to fit.”

“Love me,” hissed the sneak,

“My eyes are so soul-sinking, and my body so slim and my scales so slivery.

My venom can scare all those who dare to hurt you, and you will be safe by my side.

Love me.”

I smiled politely at the shiny reptile in denial.

“You are indeed beautiful, yet too dangerous to keep by my side.”

“Love me,” waved the wings of the butterfly,

Yet before she could say anything, I already grasped her in admiration

“You are the one,” I said,

“Your wings are so light and flights so puffy, your moves so elegant.

You wear the sun, the moon, and the galaxy on your clothing.

I love you.” I started at the end.

She flattered her wings shyly as I closed her gently in my hands

Just the perfect size in my palm

So soft and too weak to escape the bearings of my thumb

I truly hope she suicide in there due to the tightening suffocation

So I wouldn’t have to do such an exhausting thing myself

However, I think that Formalin would do just the right job

--

--