Job shadowing + Re-connect day!

Peter Chung
JC InnoPower: Fellowship for Teachers
4 min readApr 26, 2018

As a teacher, I like to talk in front of students. As a student, I like to ask and express my opinions.

Today, I had a job shadowing and reconnect day, I change my position to become an observer. Jeffrey, who is a director of coding 101, is my boss. He gave me a n opportunity to join an interview and a meeting. As it is my first time to become an observer, I was asking a question “what is my role?”. Am I a journalist? To record a story of a director in a day?

No…I took an iPad, I jotted down all the details from his work. I wanted to understand more about the personality of Jeffrey. Therefore, I ask him a lot of questions about his daily duties in the lunch time. He broadened my horizon about communication among different parties. How’s a SMB company in Hong Kong can be succeed in Hong Kong.

Peter + Jeffrey
Students introduces their products to Jeffrey

In the afternoon, I participated an opening of a MakerSpace of a secondary day. It reminded that I and STEM teams prepared the same thing last year in my school. The opening liked an exhibition. We could listen from students to present their learning journey and products which are designed and made by themselves. I am thinking that can students prepare an exhibition like the opening every years. It is different from HK style open day. After watching “most likely to succeed”, the exhibition should be student centred. It is not only showing the best products or presentation from the best student. The exhibition should show the active participation of students and different stakeholders including parents and community appreciate what is done by students. Like mindfulness, we put down ourselves, no judgement on students. On the other side, I am asking a question that will the exhibition increase the workload of the whole school?

Teresa + Peter in K2.Digital

The second job shadowing is visiting a director of K2.digital, Teresa. We know each other from CUHK. She is an IE graduate while I am an MIE graduate (one of her partner is my junior classmates 2007 VS 2010 intake xD) in CUHK. We are also from Shawband (0809 VS 1011)!

I had lined up two job shadowing boss to share their business story. It was very interesting, like a business talk 60s VS 90s generation.

Teresa + Jeffrey
KK Tsang + Peter

It is a long time not meeting Teresa (around 8 years?). When I meet her on Friday, there is a huge difference when I met her in the university. She is shy and passive in the university life but She is a successful business woman now! Why does she change a lot in just only 4–5 years.

In the job shadowing, she is changing a role from a programmer to a director of a company. She is an active and a creative director. When she told to me about the crazy employee welfare, like claiming any books and movie tickets which employee bought. She believes that they are web design company, all employee should have chance to read more design and programming books as they like to enhance life-long learning. They will have a travel in Japan and it is free for all employee. She is still learning how to manage the team to plan for a sustainable future. Using 3–3–3–1 to invest their net profit is her company strategy.

At the end, She introduced a very inspired mentor, CEO of “the Bee” company, KK Tsang to me. Mentor is a very important person for anyone in life-long learning, not only knowledge, but also the sense of dealing with others, such as working with other people into harmony in unity, or coping with different kind of things with proper attitude.

Reconnect with my students!
Is it a time to clean the street by us?

The dinner on last Friday is my re-connect day. I am not the teacher of my graduated students, I am a listener. They told me so many things about their secondary school life. At the end, we walked to the Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade and shared their daily life. I asked a question, what do you want to do again if you have a second chance to go back to the school life?….Imagine….

--

--

Peter Chung
JC InnoPower: Fellowship for Teachers

ICT+STREAM Teacher, IT Enthusiast, Innovative Teaching, IT in Edu