Approaches to Sustainable UX Design Practice — evolving the UX practice to include Sustainability

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C
Human-Tech-Futures
Published in
6 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Courtesy of Pixabay

I often revisit my writing on the subject of User Experience (UX) and in that vein, sharing another excerpt from my 2011 book User Experience in the Age of Sustainability. I am blessed that this book has become a textbook in many design programs, and it was one of the first books to tackle the topic of Design practice and Sustainability. Since publishing, so much has changed in terms of the public’s growing consciousness around Sustainability and the climate crisis. I have been and remain a strong advocate for Designers looking to engage within their own circle of influence and sharing some older experiences of the practices as they are sadly still ongoing issues around the topics of Ecology, UX and Design. This is an edited excerpt from my book. Open to any feedback and or collaborations.

From time to time, and when time avails, I give talks to small groups, mostly designers, on the various subject matter. The ones I get the most asked is, “How can I help implement this my job? Are there protocols for adding to the current methods employed in User Research?

I recently published another excerpt (here) from my book, which focuses on how an evolved User Experience should conjoin with a Sustainability practice. After observing the corporate functions of…

--

--

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C
Human-Tech-Futures

A Tech Humanist, I write about society, culture, technology, education, & AI. Additionally, I am a villager and live in a small city in Canada.