Meet Catherine Leverette, District & School Customer Success at Goalbook

Veronica Lucena
Innovating Instruction
5 min readMar 1, 2022

Based in Atlanta, GA

Enjoying the trail at Roswell Mill

What was your experience prior to Goalbook?

Prior to Goalbook, I worked in several metro Atlanta school districts as an elementary school teacher, instructional coach, and an assistant principal.

What gravitated you towards Goalbook’s mission?

As a teacher, I always believed that all of my students could achieve. As I considered my path as an educator, I didn’t always know what step I wanted to take next, but I was certain that I had a strong desire to impact more students. In my role as an instructional coach and school administrator, it was fulfilling to have an impact on students by building capacity in other educators. I knew that any career transition from there would have to provide an opportunity for me to have a greater impact on teaching and learning. Goalbook’s mission aligned with the work that I was doing and my desire to continue.

What is your role, and what are your favorite parts of it?

I am on Goalbook’s Success Team supporting schools and districts primarily in the southeast region. I collaborate with school and district leaders on the successful implementation of Goalbook Toolkit within their setting. This includes talking through instructional pain points, leading professional development to address their needs, and keeping an open line of communication throughout the year to check in on the implementation. My favorite part of the role is the excitement that occurs at the end of training. I love glancing over at the chat box and seeing statements from educators sharing how excited they are about having access to such a wonderful tool. Seriously, it makes my heart smile every time!

My favorite part of the role is the excitement that occurs at the end of training. I love glancing over at the chat box and seeing statements from educators sharing how excited they are about having access to such a wonderful tool.

Assistant principal at Morningside Elementary, Atlanta, Georgia

Outside of the role, what are one or two things you love here?

I love so much about our company. I love that our co-founder boldly shares our company’s commitment to anti-racism. We have safe spaces to continuously learn and grow together, share our experiences, and give feedback on how our company can continue to grow as it relates to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Additionally, I love our company’s overall culture. We fill each other’s days with laughter, smiles, warm messages, and even virtual gongs! My colleagues genuinely care about each other.

How do you work and communicate with your manager?

Communication with my manager is done with such ease. I love that I am able to provide my manager with context on how I communicate best and what works for me. We have two planned check-ins per week. During this time, she really works with me as more of a thought-partner and coach. Outside of our scheduled meetings, I know that I can always reach out to her. This could be a quick text, chat, or an email. I’m constantly supported.

I love our company’s overall culture. We fill each other’s days with laughter, smiles, warm messages, and even virtual gongs! My colleagues genuinely care about each other.

What have you learned in your role so far?

I’ve learned so much more about the value of true collaboration. I’ve grown so much in the area of feedback—both giving and receiving. We frequently observe each other and practice difficult conversations. These practices provide us with opportunities to give and receive timely, quality, and actionable feedback.

Excited about attending my first conference — GCASE, Savannah, Georgia

What are some areas you’d like to continue growing professionally?

As a startup, it’s amazing to watch how quickly our team and our business is growing. I’d like to grow more in the area of strategic planning because although we will continue to evolve and our day-to-day work may look different, our long-term mission remains the same.

What personal goals have you set outside of work?

Outside of work, I’m focusing on my health. I’m back in the gym consistently, but I’m most excited about finally getting back into tap dancing. I enrolled in a local dance school’s spring session, and I can’t wait to work on my craft again.

What are some of your favorite spots in Atlanta?

I’m a people watcher, so I love Atlanta’s BeltLine. There’s always something exciting to see. I also love a little area right outside of the city called Roswell Mill. There are multiple hiking trails and a beautiful waterfall a couple of miles in. I love relaxing near the water. It’s such a sweet escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

What’s your favorite memory during your time at Goalbook?

My favorite memory was attending my first conference. I’d finally had the opportunity to meet so many of the wonderful district leaders that I was frequently collaborating with throughout the year. It was great to share the exciting updates and resources available within Goalbook. However, I loved that we were able to enjoy workouts, dinners, and plenty of laughs together throughout the conference. It was also great to explore the streets of Savannah with one of my awesome colleagues.

Hanging on the BeltLine, Atlanta, Georgia

I love relaxing near the water. It’s such a sweet escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Which team activity has been your favorite?

My favorite team activity during my time at Goalbook was the scavenger hunt during “virtual spring week.” Because of the pandemic, I’ve met very few of my colleagues in person, so I’m still getting to know everyone. To see how competitive and creative everyone became during the scavenger hunt was hilarious. I can’t wait to finally meet everyone in person during an in-person celebration week.

Explore Goalbook’s open jobs on our Careers Page.

Follow us on LinkedIn to stay up to date on job opportunities.

Read more stories about the Culture at Goalbook here.

--

--