Meet Vinnie Ray, District Partnerships Team Lead

Elizabeth King
Innovating Instruction
5 min readSep 8, 2023

Prior to joining Goalbook, Vinnie had multiple roles both in and supporting education. Vinnie’s first job in education was as a paraprofessional in Cincinnati, Ohio. She then began working in educational operations as a director at both the local and regional levels for various education companies. No matter what role she’s in, Vinnie aims to support students and educational leaders through creating and building trusting relationships.

In this Q&A, Vinnie candidly shares her observations of working at Goalbook and how it differs from her prior work experiences.

1. What attracted you to Goalbook?

I had a list of items that I was looking for in a company. When I saw that at the very core of Goalbook’s work and mission it’s about children and ALL students, that checked a key item on my list. Another thing I liked was that Goalbook was a small and agile startup because I had experience in a start-up environment and enjoyed it.

The co-founder Daniel is a person of color, and that checked another item on my list. I also saw that there were other people of color, and their stories were being highlighted, so that checked off another item. I also liked that DEIA work was beginning.

I felt confident about the company after going through the website, but I wanted to see what others whom I trust would say about Goalbook and its product, Goalbook Toolkit. I leaned into a very good friend who was a special education teacher. After looking at Goalbook Toolkit, she said that if her school had it, she would use it every day.

I already loved Goalbook and its mission, but when my friend validated that the work Goalbook does is solid and makes an impact, I knew I wanted to be a part of the company.

Vinnie Ray, District and Partnerships Team Lead

“We continue to strive to make the work we do better…”

2. What are your favorite parts of your role?

Partnerships with schools and districts are at the forefront of our work. I love that we have a great product, of course, but really, building relationships is my primary role. I work to develop relationships of trust with our partners. The goal is to deepen our connections and relationships, and I love that.

I also get jazzed when I bring new partners on and hear that Goalbook Toolkit is going to help them.

We aren’t perfect, and we’re never going to be perfect. But we continue to strive to make the work we do better, and I like that as well.

“Epic fails are also epic wins.”

3. In your eyes, what are some key differences you’ve observed between the culture at Goalbook and other companies you’ve worked for?

Some of us come from workplaces that have given us trauma. We still deal with that past trauma.

There are a few things Goalbook does that I see helps to reduce the trauma we may carry from past workplaces. One is collaborating to create definitions of how we want to operate together. Norming is a huge way to reduce the feelings of trauma.

In previous roles, I felt like I had to be perfect all the time. And here, that’s not the case. Epic fails are also epic wins. What I see embedded in the culture as a whole is a growth mindset. It’s okay to not get something right the first time, but we continue to try. This is not just a conversation; it’s reality.

Rooted in Goalbook’s culture is the core value of growth and a genuine desire to help, coach, and allow people to develop. I began to trust the genuineness of this because our co-founder Daniel is consistent and echoes the message of growth so much in conversations.

Members of the Partnerships team with Bobby Flay.

4. What have been your observations about Goalbook’s company-wide DEIA work?

We still have a lot of work to do. We’re in the infancy stages of it. Before there was the notion and thought, but there was a lot of random work on it. Now, however, it’s guided and focused work.

There is a methodical plan in place. It may be uncomfortable, but there is a real framework and a guiding driver of the work. It has gone from the idea of it being important to the work of it being important.

We have race-based Affinity Groups, which I think is courageous for Goalbook to have. During our Winter and Summer Celebration Weeks this year, we also had Open Spaces which honor that people need places they can be vulnerable in and not be so heavy all the time. These groups and spaces contribute to self-growth and relationships.

There are growing pains for sure, but Goalbook continues to learn and makes adjustments.

5. Outside of your role, what are one or two things you love here?

Being relationship forward both internally and externally. One aspect of relationships that is practiced is that people assume good intentions. When conflicts happen, we mutually assume that the other person has good intentions. This aligns to one of my personal core values.

Another thing I love here is the trust Goalbook has in individuals and we have in each other. I love the trust that has been given to me, and the talent that is seen in me. I have been elevated to a team leader because I demonstrated characteristics that are authentically me. So it feels good to be recognized for things I do naturally.

Vinnie and Goalbook teammates during Summer Celebration Week 2022.

“I am learning to make sure my thoughts are being said and my voice is being heard.”

6. What have you learned in your role?

That I have a lot to learn. It’s exciting to have the beginner’s mindset.

I am a part of the District Partnerships team. But I’m also part of the Partnerships team leads, and I feel like this is where I’m meant to be. I am learning to make sure my thoughts are being said and my voice is being heard. I am learning to trust in a new way as a leader at Goalbook.

7. What’s your favorite memory during your time at Goalbook?

My onboarding with Gina Sudyka is one of my best memories. She is open and welcoming. Gina met with me a minimum of twice a week at the beginning of my time at Goalbook. She effectively guided me and coached me, and I really leaned into her. When we would meet, she said things like “I’m learning from you,” which made me feel good and also shows her humility. Gina is a phenomenal person and manager.

Explore Goalbook’s open jobs on our Careers Page.

Follow us on LinkedIn to stay up to date on job opportunities.

Read more stories about the Culture at Goalbook here.

--

--

Elizabeth King
Innovating Instruction

Writing @Goalbook to support special education leaders and help ALL students succeed.