An eager beaver

Nil
Innovative Teaching Scholars (ITS) Program
2 min readJan 22, 2021

As they say: “New graduates are always eager beavers.”, I happen to think that this idiom suits me best.

Photo by Tobias Fischer on Unsplash

My name is Nilnetre, but I like to keep the informal form as short as possible so everything shows up as “Nil”. And I’m an education-newbie.

I just graduated last year, after 6 years in medical school, 3 years in medical internship, 2 years in non-medical and 3 years in residency. I’m currently an instructor at faculty of medicine, Ramathibodi hospital.

My goal in teaching is to be able to encourage students to become “lifelong learners”. Knowledge changes over time and the most important thing is to be able to keep up with new things. I want students to know how to learn rather than having only good grades of what they’ve learned.— and that’s what I’m pursuing for. :)

As I am a newbie in this field, I would love to see and hear what other educators has been through. Experience is the most valuable thing for professionals. I don’t have much experience to share, only my limited ideas which might not be possible. But I think trial and error is the key concept for development. And to have many ideas from the community of the same practice for the trial would be priceless.

I’ve heard amazing ideas in Stage 1. I’m sure more is yet to come in Stage 2.

Looking forward to it.

Nil

--

--