Eating out in a restaurant may be easy, how about opening one?

White Shuffle Bangkok by Scott (2021)

This semester, I’m teaching the course Food and Beverage Operations Management. Students have learned about how to manage food and beverage operation businesses such as restaurant, catering business or even café throughout the entire semester. At the beginning, they learned about different styles of food and beverage business and types of services.

Although eating out in different occasions are common things in our lives, not many people know what approaches are required in different types of food and beverage businesses. And I could say it may not easy like it seen. Each dish were prepared and decorated neatly before it will be served and posted by consumers.

Occasion for dining out from students in class.

In final project, students in this course have to establish a business plan for food and beverages based on their preferences. They need to develop food and beverage concept, signature menu as well as doing 2-year budgets. More important, their business plan should be creative, realistic and novel. As I want my students to become an owner of food and beverage business one day. So it would be great if they could have a hands-on experience in the class. I would like to know what are issues they need to consider before opening a food and beverage business.

Class assignment details (2021)

This is a two-month project. Every week, in class activity were assigned to help them develop their ideas. In the final week, they need to pitch their business ideas within the time that I assigned. After submission, I was surprised with all brilliant ideas from my students. Even though, we never meet in person at all in this semester. Many of them show their potential in being a food and beverage owner. As you can see from photos below

So all I can say, I see lots of NORTH STARS from where I teach 😊.

References: Scott (2021) 7 Superb New Restaurants to Visit in March. Retrieved from https://www.prestigeonline.com/th/wine-dine/7-new-restaurants-march/ (Accessed: 5 May 2021)

--

--