Reflection by doing wrong

When you talk about exploration, explanation and reflection, the first two term are quite straight forwardly understandable. The last term, however, reflection is something very unusual for my class or as a whole, Thai educational system. By looking back since I was student, the reflection was not a term that my teachers asked to do after class. The reflection came automatically right after you knew that you did something wrong such as missing some laboratory procedure or forgot to calculate the important part of your structure design. Amazingly, I was totally remember these fault and could recall that feeling like a rewind tape.

That’s coming into the question. How to make student feel the same?

Photo by Tachina Lee on Unsplash

So I came up with the plan of reflection through an activity during the class by using a quiz question. However, the question was not too difficult for them but had to put some traps and wait them to fall into ;)

Photo by Photoholgic on Unsplash

After the quiz, there were three groups of student; confident, neutral, and people who didn’t care. Then I explain the solution and link with theories they have learned before. After the question explained, I asked student to think about moment that they studied my class, and ask themselves what was the degree of there understanding. Furthermore, looking back what make them struggle in the topic that they did not understand.

I hope they could reflect what they have missed and remember the feeling of Reflection!!!

--

--