Ritual reflection

My class was always started serious!!! I currently teaching structural mechanic for architecture students, which involved lots of calculation and logical explanation. Hence, this is some kind of painful subject for Arch-student. With that statement, I would like to make my class more enjoyable with ritual activities. However, the ritual should not only make my class less intense, but also bring some reflection to my students.

The idea of my ritual activity came from the behavior of architect student that always put some sketch pictures in my exam (some thing that’s not related with the answer :P). Therefore, my ritual in was to let student interpreted their understanding of the class content into a sketch of their buildings.

Ritual in Picture from student

This way, students could reflect what they have learned and sketch into picture instead of tell me in scale 1 to 5, then student can show their sketches with friends on screen (still remote learning). So, I can see the situation of the class via their pictures. After in-class activity and lecture, the ritual out was done by adding detail of their knowledge into previous sketch in order to reflect and summarize their taught after lecture.

Ritual out after class

--

--