Networking Is All About a Mindset! #1

Mathilde Guimard
Inovexus
Published in
4 min readDec 1, 2021

Business is networking. Being in California made me realize that networking is not solely about ecosystems focused on business and technology. It’s also a mindset, a way of considering and looking for opportunities.

Networking Is All About A Mindset!

I’m French, and personally, when working hours are done, I’m not that excited to go to a Tech event. For 3 reasons:

  • Free-time is for non-work interests! 🙃
  • I don’t know how to approach people 🤔
  • I’m not sure if they’re willing to help me 😔

In California,

  • Making connections is a part of everyday life
  • The “go for it” attitude is key
  • Give back. Pay it forward. is a mantra

So here is my first answer to “What’s the California DNA?”: A networking culture.

1/Networking is part of the Californians’ daily life 🤝

Networking events aren’t just for business, they’re also an opportunity to socialize. Talking business is the basis of social relations in San Francisco, even in friendly conversations. By friendly, I mean non-professional. And making this distinction runs counter to San Franciscans’ mindset. 🙄

On Friday night, people go to Tech meetups because they consider themselves as part of projects, not just employees. They care about startup development, strongly believe in the CEO’s vision, and are 100% invested. They are passionate about their job! Others go to these events to find ideas. Get connections before even knowing what your startup will be about:💯

So, after work, you meet tech guys while enjoying your favorite activities!

  • Do you enjoy climbing? Go to an “Indoor Rock Climbing For Women Engineers”.
  • Interested in discussing social issues while meeting Tesla and Amazon’s employees? Go to a Queer Latinxs in Tech meetup on Mission St.
  • Missing Switzerland (and good cheese)? A “Swiss Pitch Night” at Embarcadero in SF is a good option.

Thanks to these chill meetings, making connections after work has become a part of Californians’ schedule. That’s how I met entrepreneurs in NFTs, Cybersecurity, Crypto, and Marketplaces when I was in Los Angeles.

Yes, the California business culture makes it easier to meet the right people, since it fits so well into daily casual life. But opportunities are not only in the US! When I was in France, I considered networking events as optional. They’re key here. What I’ve learned is that it’s all about MINDSET! The good news is adopting a mindset can be done remotely: booking flights to come to San Francisco might not be necessary 😇

2/The “GO-FOR-IT” attitude 👊

“The mindset in the US is SO different from our European one!” I’ve heard this a lot from Inovexus’ mentors. Now, I can finally experience it! I think the entrepreneur attitude here makes it natural to create connections. Determination, ambition, and strong will are common denominators.

Go-for-it for an entrepreneur means no self-censorship.

Californians see BIG. They have huge ambitions. They’re actively taking part in building the future. Everyone here has a vision of what the global economy will be like in 5 years, and how technology will help them build new projects. I had lunch with Meryll Dindin, a French guy well imbued with the American mindset. His life goals?

  • Create his own Academy
  • Build a city of 1M inhabitants
  • Live 1000 years

Mine? Running a marathon. Not the same ambition 😅

Seriously, to me, his last objective is unrealistic (and his second is REALLY ambitious). To him, “sky is the limit”. Everything is possible in San Francisco. There is no mental barrier, no self-censorship.

These ambitious entrepreneurs are willing to learn from anyone and are really interested in other people’s visions. They don’t hesitate to engage in conversations with strangers. This is new for me, since in France I often felt that joining a group of people and introducing myself during an event was intimidating. Here, it’s the objective of the meeting, not the issue!

3/Give back. Pay it forward. ⏩

At the moment I write this article, I receive a message from Jeremy High, CEO of FreshPortal, “I wouldn’t be anywhere had folks NOT introduced me to people like you both.” An important aspect of the American mindset is entrepreneurs succeed because they were helped. They’re now pleased to help you, and that makes it much easier to get connected.

On a Powerpoint Presentation for business angels, the following was displayed:

  • Sometimes a founder needs guidance — great, help them out!
  • Founders remember everything you do for them
  • This one 30 minute meeting may be the most important meeting in a founder’s life
  • When the founder becomes worth billions, they’ll remember everything you did for them on the way up. Even things you’ve forgotten!

Before coming here, I thought that to succeed, it was better to keep the best tips you learned to yourself. These 4 bullet points claim that, actually, it slows down connections, collaboration, and innovation.

People here don’t see you as their competitor but as their ally, their partner!

Next step

I hope these 3 aspects of how Californians behave have convinced you: adopt the American attitude!

GO FOR IT, networking is key to scaling a business quickly. It’s a 24/7 job that Californians not only understand but dedicate their lives to. They are always looking for opportunities.

Keeping my eyes and mind open is my rule here. Talk to everyone, from the person sitting next to me on the bus to serial entrepreneurs; they all have something to teach me as opportunities are right before me 👁️

In the following weeks, I continue to explore the startup ecosystem with my backpack. I have 1 more week in San Francisco before going back to Los Angeles.

My second article to answer the question “What’s California DNA?” is coming soon!

By the way, you can also follow my adventures on Linkedin! 😉

Mathilde

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

--

--

Mathilde Guimard
Inovexus

5 months backpacking in California to meet entrepreneurs for @Inovexus. My objective? Learning US best practices in the technology and startup ecosystem