Going Places : MITACS Globalink, Canada

Cepstrum
InPlace
Published in
4 min readSep 3, 2017

Internship experiences in abroad are always amazing. And when it comes to opportunities in countries like Canada, it becomes an unforgettable memory. In this article, I summed up my pre-final year internship experience at Ecole de technologie superieure (ETS, Montreal) through MITACS Globalink Research Internship (GRI) program in Canada. The GRI program is a competitive initiative for international undergraduates from 8 nations including India. Students participate in a 12-week research internship under the supervision of Canadian university faculty members in a variety of academic disciplines, from science, engineering and mathematics to the humanities and social sciences. The internship is completely funded by the organization itself.

It was beginning of my 5th semester and I set forth for a typical routine to explore opportunities at various research Labs across the globe. As a part of it, I applied to MITACS program towards the end of September. With over 1000 projects to choose from, I selected seven interesting projects and ranked them based on my interest and my credentials. Later in November, I was interviewed by my host professor and we discussed regarding her project on ‘Tongue Motion Analysis using Ultrasound Images’. Like most of the professors associated with this program, she too was very friendly and supportive. It was mid January when I got an acceptance call from MITACS team. Although IITG’s summer vacation falls a week shorter to the program’s requirement, our administration provided a NOC to register after 12 weeks. I flew to Canada in May immediately after my end-sem exams. The fear to travel abroad for the first time was overcome by the ecstatic feeling of a childhood dream-come-true.

Summers in Canada have moderate temperatures and I’m glad I had to go to Montreal which seemed like a cocoon of cultural activities all round the summer. I lived in university residences sharing an apartment with Sanjeev (classmate back in IITG). Delighted to make best out of this 12-week journey, I steadily began my research work at LATIS Lab. In the three month long internship period, I spared some time to see the labs and infrastructure in several universities around. Needless to say, outstanding research facilities and cutting-edge industry innovation are surely a benchmark for good academic life in Canada.

It was a rewarding experience- a perfect blend of academic research, networking , professional skills development, and social activities. This opportunity helped me to explore my independence and develop life skills by living on my own in a new country. Moreover, MITACS sponsored sufficient funds to explore places around Montreal and I was fortunate to see Niagara and Toronto. I was assigned a mentor who regularly kept me informed about the festivals happening around. Beginning with a warm welcoming party, MITACS frequently organized get-togethers and various social events.

As the days passed by, my research work seemed more demanding and tougher. With no PhD guide, I frequently discussed strategies with my Professor and formulated weekly plans and targets. She always encouraged me to explore different works and to conduct experiments. During our discussions, at times, she curious learnt about India and universities here.

Commutation within Montreal was never an issue; with metro stations and cabs all around, with all places within walkable distances, life was easier. I spent my weekends exploring the culture and traditions of that place. Roaming around, I met people from different countries, different lifestyles, making new friends everywhere. Language was never a barrier for communication although french was heard at every corner. Astonishingly, the ambience of this place never gave me a chance to miss my home although I spent a 3-month period miles far away from it. I used to stroll the streets at mid-nights and the place always seemed safe for foreigners.

The last few weeks of my internship period were really hectic. I had to forgo my entertainment plans on few Saturdays as I firmly planned to get a research paper out of my work. The final presentation went unexpectedly good as it was well perceived by my lab-mates. I never forgot to buy souvenirs in the last few days of my stay in Montreal. I made sure to visit all places nearby and ate everything new that was locally available. Last but not the least, I thanked my Professor and lab-mates for making my stay in Montreal comfortable and my research in Canada fruitful.

— Sai Murlidhar Jayanthi

Alumnus, Batch of 2013–2017

NOTE: Some of the views and ideas expressed here are from the personal experiences and shouldn’t be considered as facts.

--

--