Placements : A roller-coaster ride

Cepstrum
InPlace
Published in
6 min readJan 20, 2019

This article was written by Sasank Gurajapu for the InPlace series of Cepstrum.

While many people have different intentions and outlooks toward campus placements, one thing is for sure, it’s a roller coaster ride of emotions.

For some people, it strikes during their summer, for few others, it strikes as their seventh-semester starts, but when the placement realization hits someone, it causes a certain degree of panic and that pertains over a few days. This may be perceived as a negative emotion, as true as it is, this emotion can be used to catapult one’s preparation for their appropriate role. For me, it was during the summers that I had the initial wave of panic, but it was truly in August of the seventh semester after looking at the preparation of friends, which started my preparations. Seniors and friends helping me with materials was just half of their contribution, rest was the emotional support to control my panic and keep spirits high with positive intent to go forward. One can help their friends and ensure positivity in conversations.

Preparation is something many people have already spoken a lot about, across profiles and companies, let me speak about something rawer, a thought process which triggers several times during this period, “What do we want out of these placements?”. For some it might be any good company, for few it’s one company of their choice, for fewer it’s the type of role and for me, it was a highly reputed company with an inclination towards business roles, but was willing to take up software role, given its pay is great.

This is a very personal, subjective answer but it’s an obvious thought process which everyone thinks through. It’s a repetitive emotion and gives you a lot of clarity about yourself. This is also a draining thought, as one may find his/her situation hazy compared to others, pulling out a plug on their preparation as well as pulling their spirits down.

This is a typical situation throughout, and also an important one where you require people around to stand up for you. Say it to yourself, and your batch mates, that this phase is normal and encourage talking. Keeping stuff to yourself and finding no outlet are some of the most important reasons for underperforming. Friends play a crucial role in supporting you during this crucial phase. One might hesitate to open to others as others might be going through the same, but there’s no stronger friendship than being the support of each other. When the situation was a bit out of control for me, I opted for support from seniors, parents and even on-campus counselors.

Once the companies started coming to the campus, several companies might not open for you because of your branch or CGPA. You will be pulled into a huge black hole of regretting your choices and actions right from your JEE time to your sixth semester. It might seem like an exaggerated claim now, but it’s a very profound emotion. It’s during such situations your mental strength is tested to its extreme.

“If one is aware of their pros and cons to a great depth, nobody can use it as a weapon to hurt him/her.”

Despite being in a good branch (in terms of placements), I have a sub-par CGPA. This was my biggest con concerning placements. I told myself over time to look towards my strengths and more importantly be aware of possible consequences of having a low CGPA, companies not opening for that CGPA and also rejections in interviews on this grounds. But this wasn’t the time for regrets, it’s about pitching your pros and seizing every opportunity.

Having good CGPA friends around may not always help your situation, but if they are good friends, they will support you out and show you are much beyond what those 3 digits signify. While I still recommend to gain increase CGPA as much as possible and avoid this situation, this is just an instance to show how one can handle CGPA issue during placements.

Seniors are very crucial in this stage for various reasons. For one, they have been through the same stage and can relate to your thoughts more than you expect them to. They also can evaluate your situation better and advice preparation accordingly. They can give better insight into how to ace interviews, seize opportunities and maximize it for you. Keeping it simple, keep them close and they will be of great help.

During this stages of preparation, some might prepare at their rooms, CC, library, in solitude or in a group, but at any moment reach out for a friend in help or if you require help. There is a bigger picture to all of this, the entire batch is in for it as a group and there are no barricades this time for help. Everyone is a friend and it’s an entire batch of students appearing for placements. I can’t start to measure the impact and breath of fresh air and hope brought by those 15 minutes talks I had with many of my batch mates and juniors near the CC and CCD.

Once the tests are through in full throttle, it is advised to be well-fed and sufficiently rested in order to maximize your performance. One has to play it smart and ensure others also play it smart by not over-stressing himself/herself. Towards the end, when the shortlists are coming out, it’s a high possibility you may not make it into a number of companies, even the ones you were pretty sure. It happens to almost everyone, the companies might have their own reasons, that’s when you have to buckle up your spirits and prepare for next test or upcoming interviews.

Finally, as the D-Day arrives, you will be filled up with a wide range of emotions, right from tension, excitement, guilt, suspense, and the list goes on. It’s important one remains focused, confident and positive till the moment.

Once the placement slots start, if you have no interview now, prepare for the next one. If you don’t want to prepare, help your friend with CV’s and emotional support as he/she waits for his/her interview call. Once it’s your interview, put that smile even through the toughest of time and say “Hello.” It might be possible, you would be rejected in one, few or like me 6 interviews.

By end of day 1, which, until a day earlier, I was confident of landing a job by then, I was standing still with no job, rejected by 3 companies, decided not to sit in interview of another company in slot 2 (because I didn’t want to work for the company, sounds arrogant or impulsive, but it was thought out). Thankfully closest of my friends were placed by then and started rooting for me, bringing in all hugs to cheer me up and running around the corridors clutching multiple copies of my CV. This wasn’t just my situation, but a prevalent one across many students.

Start of day 2, continuing on my stance of not working for few companies led to my decision of not sitting in few of the interviews I was shortlisted. This was probably one of the toughest moments when my friends were willing to getting you placed but I was sitting there with a certain degree of stubborn attitude. I was waiting for slot 2 of day 2, till then I, half-heartedly, gave few interviews to no success and resentment from few of my friends. I can’t start to describe how grateful I am for still trusting in my decision and importantly contributing to ensuring I was rational in thinking not losing hope. Come slot 2, I was shortlisted in multiple banks and companies, but my heart was set on Deloitte. Call it a gut feeling, but I had a good feeling, and seeing all my friends rooting for me was one of the best instances to realize, what a bunch of wonderful friends I have around me. I stepped into the Deloitte interview as this were to be my moment to seize and after one and half hour, I stepped out with a certain sense of relief and restoration of self-belief that all my choices were right, as I got placed in Deloitte. This gave a sense of jubilation among all my friends, who have been waiting for this moment sincerely.

This is the moment, we have to behave sensibly and realize the bigger picture- Everyone is a friend and the many of my friends are still waiting for their jobs. After initial, well-deserved jubilation, it’s appropriate to come back and root for rest of your friends. The happiness when someone gets placed while you are the point of contact, or just running around, pitching their CV’s, makes your own placement experience even better.

Be the good friend you have been throughout this duration and help everyone around you. Nothing beats the happiness of seeing your entire lobby, with whom you have spent your years in campus, placed and happy.

I take this as an opportunity to express my gratitude to all my friends, seniors and family who have helped me through this roller-coaster of a period in college.

--

--