Buddhism Is Wrong

I heard a celebrity spout a mistaken thought and had to respond.

Douglas Giles, PhD
Inserting Philosophy

--

Okay, that headline is unfair because “Buddhism” is not a discrete entity but has many forms. However, that is part of my point. Read on, please.

I saw a video address using a Hollywood celebrity to promote a particular school of Buddhism. “I realized all my thoughts are illusions,” said the celebrity with a smirk, apparently unaware of the contradiction inherent in his statement. Reject your thoughts, reject your self, all is illusion was the message from the video. Even a small amount of thinking about these claims show their absurdity. So I will insert some philosophy into them, setting aside the legitimate question of why someone would want to convince others not to think for themselves.

--

--

Douglas Giles, PhD
Inserting Philosophy

Philosopher by trade & temperament, professor for 21 years, bringing philosophy out of its ivory tower and into everyday life. https://dgilesauthor.com/