Dealing with Writing Anxiety

Writing sometimes stops before starting.

Vico Biscotti
inside Blogging

--

I’m recently focused on things different from writing. Writing is not among the best ways to earn a living. Still, I want to write. I write less, but I write.

However, being a perfectionist, writing not being a daily habit for me, and not being a native English speaker, writing is sometimes hard. I’ve written some pieces I’m proud of, with good appreciation, and now, when I approach the blank page, I feel anxiety. I just feel I’m not able to write something like I did, or like it could be at my best, or in my native language.

I try to do my best with “quality,” so I don’t just throw pieces online. But keeping my bar high (in my perspective) while not being a professional writer may be a conflict hard to solve. I fear that my next words will disappoint my readers. Not an acceptance thing. I just want that my writing amount to something of value, not just to a bunch of words.

So, when I start writing, I suddenly hear Editor Me saying: “Is that the best way to introduce the topic?” “Don’t you have an experience to tell?” “It doesn’t flow.”

I know, there’s plenty of advice on this, like not editing in advance (I’m one of the reckless guys who edit while writing and after writing), but it’s not just about a technique thing.

--

--