Navigating the Role of a Corporate Secretary in Tech Industry

Cut Fika Lutfi
Inside Bukalapak
Published in
5 min readDec 29, 2023

Reflecting on my journey, it feels surreal to recount the twists and turns that have led me to where I am today. My career, which used to focus on the legal industry, unexpectedly shifted to a role that needed flexibility and a strong grasp of corporate governance, risk and compliance. This transformation wasn’t just about navigating professional shifts but about embracing the challenges of being a working mom while excelling in a demanding corporate environment.

My professional journey commenced as a lawyer, during which I had the privilege of working with esteemed law firms in Indonesia, learning extensively under the guidance of top mentors.

The turning point in my career came unexpectedly in 2018 when I was appointed as the Corporate Secretary at my previous company. This career switch was not part of my initial career blueprint. However, I have always been drawn to challenging opportunities and am inherently inclined to step out of my comfort zone.

It was also a big deal because, at that time, I was the youngest among my colleagues to take on such a role, responsible for compliance and corporate governance in Indonesia’s largest nickel mining company.

Unlike being a lawyer or in-house counsel, being a corporate secretary doesn’t come with a playbook or precedents to follow. The alignment between the company’s business strategy, compliance and corporate governance strategies is custom-made, and making it work requires approval and full support from the top to bottom. To add to the challenge, people often perceive a corporate secretary as someone who deals only with paperwork and administrative tasks. Getting recognition for the importance of the role was tough when people didn’t fully understand it.

I was also a single contributor and being one means putting in extra effort and hours to ensure everything was in order and met the company’s expectations. Those challenges shaped me and brought me to where I am today.

Fortunately, an unexpected opportunity has once again presented itself in my career. After dedicating 8 years to the mining industry, I felt a strong inclination to venture into a new and challenging domain, experiencing the dynamics of a rapidly changing industry — and Bukalapak has provided me with this chance.

As the forefront of innovation, the technology sector constantly introduces new ideas that reshape how businesses and governments coordinate their affairs. It was this allure of embracing change and being part of a progressive industry that motivated my move. Bukalapak, being the first tech company listed in the stock exchange and a key player in fostering the empowerment of small and medium enterprises in Indonesia, stood out as the ideal platform for my professional growth.

Moreover, the prospect of working in an environment brimming with young and dynamic individuals appeals to me. Joining Bukalapak represents not just a career move but a strategic decision to immerse myself in a vibrant and forward-thinking culture.

In line with the duties and responsibilities that have been specifically governed by the prevailing regulation, the corporate secretary at Bukalapak as a public company has an important role. One of its main and important responsibilities is to ensure the effective implementation of good corporate governance practices throughout the organization.

Additionally, for publicly listed companies, adherence to the regulations established by the Indonesia Stock Exchange (IDX) and the Financial Services Authority (OJK) is guided by the overarching principle of safeguarding the interests of minority shareholders, a fundamental tenet irrespective of the industry. A comprehensive understanding of the capital market regulatory framework is pivotal for ensuring compliance and facilitating the requisite disclosure of information

Working for such a fast-paced industry also poses certain challenges to my other role as a mom, particularly in balancing life and work priorities. However, I soon realized that finding this balance is not about searching for it; it’s about creating it. As Jana Kingsford wisely said, “Balance is not something you find, it’s something you create.”

Being a working mom has its challenges, but it’s also incredibly fulfilling. There are moments when leading a project with tight deadlines or going on a crucial business trip clashes with the need to care for my sick children at home or make a presence at their important school events, making things seem impossible. Drawing from my 12 years of experience as a working mom, I’ve learned that the keys to balance are setting priorities and managing time wisely, without losing my sanity.

Sometimes work takes the front seat, and sometimes it’s family first. It’s a juggling act, but it’s possible. What’s crucial is communicating your situation and needs with your support system, both at work and at home. This openness helps in navigating through the challenges, ensuring you meet your commitments both in your professional life and as a wife and mother at home.

But I’m grateful that I’m joining a company that has considered a working mom like me, where we can excel both in our careers and our role as a mom. Bukalapak allows flexible working methods, including remote working, if needed. This approach allows for a good ‘work-life balance’ and respects regular working hours, making it easier for me to manage my family responsibilities.

Bukalapak also values the quality of our work rather than just being physically present in the office. This makes a big difference compared to more traditional workplaces. It means I can focus on delivering qualified results, and the company appreciates that, making it a supportive and understanding environment for working moms.

--

--