Coolest Design Achievements

Jonas
Inside Club Penguin Online
3 min readJun 27, 2019

In the past 10 months, the CPO design and development team have improved immensely. In this post, I’ll go through our most astounding designs and features.

First, the Avengers Endgame Party rings. These were the rings players had below their penguin’s feet. If they chose the Avengers side, they had a yellow ring, and if they chose Thanos’ side, they had a black ring. We weren’t sure if we could implement this feature for this party at first, but our developer found a way. These rings made the party feel more complete.

These look simple but the black ring took more than 10 seconds to make I swear.

Next, we have our custom character stamps. Players had requested for us to add new character stamps, so we did! We added 4. One for DJ Maxx, Rory, Jet Pack Guy, and Dot. I feel as though this was one of our best updates ever. So many happy players.

Nice 6 hours of designing.

Last but not least, custom postcards. We have added 3 custom postcards in total. The first two, we added for the Holiday Party 2019, and the third, for our 1st Anniversary Party.

I wanted to make the Holiday Party 2019 special, so I presented our developer with an idea: gift postcards, with custom items inside. Postcards weren’t easy to add, though we decided to do it anyway. Here’s what they looked like:

I was so creative back then!

So, as I previously mentioned, the third custom postcard was created for our 1st Anniversary Party. We wanted to use the postcard as a way to let everyone know that the party was on its way. It was an invitation postcard. Everyone who made an account before the day we sent the postcards received one. Here’s what it looked like:

That’s a rare postcard now.

I have many more cool features to show, but I don’t want this post to be longer than the Harry Potter series, so I’ll have to end it here. I really enjoyed making each one of these, and it always brings a smile to my face when I see players getting excited and happy about my work. Obviously, this all couldn’t have been done without our amazing developer, Huey. Much love.

Thanks for reading, Peace out penguins

-Jonas

--

--