Pond Room Update Behind The Scenes

Jonas
Inside Club Penguin Online
3 min readJun 26, 2019

In around January, a user had shown me a custom room concept artwork they’d made for Club Penguin Online. It really inspired me, and that’s when I knew I had to make it into an actual room.

This is the image. Much love to the person who sent me this.

At first I was stuck with the room because I had no clue how to start it. I knew the room wouldn’t look anything like the concept art so I had to wait until creative ideas started to pop up. Then, I just decided that I would start drawing a lake (or something like that). Here’s what it looked like:

Yes I drew everything.

After that, I was motivated, and everything just went perfectly. I drew some snow, worked on the trees and the sky, and then started really decorating the room with all kinds of objects. I completed all of that in about 4 hours. After that, all I had to do was fix some minor issues, and the room was complete.

Cute pond (even though it’s actually a lake).

You thought that was it? Nope. This is a permanent room so we had to add it to the map. Perfecting its place on the map was harder than I expected, as I had to redo it about 3 times. It either ended up looking bad, or I had broke something. Though, after 3 tries I was pretty happy with it.

Pretty neat!

We were celebrating 3 million registered users on the snowy island at the time, so I had to add some extra decorations to the room. Here’s what that looked like:

Still looking cute.

So that’s how I made the pond room. In total, I spent around 18 hours on this room. 18 hours of designing in just 2 days isn’t too healthy… oh well, there are worse ways to spend your time during the weekend. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post.

Thanks for reading, Peace out penguins

--

--