25 Books on Leadership

Jennifer Aldrich
Inside Design
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2019

I was recently introduced to LibbyApp and it completely changed my reading game. You enter your library card number, and boom, you have access to all of the audio books and e-books your library has to offer, right in the app.

I ripped through all of the books I had on my “I wish I had time to read this” list, and was hungry for more.

I hit up my UX, design & developer fam on Twitter and LinkedIn for suggestions, and they had so many fantastic recommendations that I decided to write this post to share them with the community. Enjoy!

Multiple Recommendations:

The Making of a Manager

Dare To Lead

Radical Candor

Crucial Conversations

Multipliers

Leaders Eat Last

High Output Management

Leadership and Self Deception

Creativity Inc.

Additional Recommendations:

Measure What Matters: John Doerr

User Experience Revolution: Paul Boag

Moments of Impact: Chris Ertel

Rise of the DEO: Maria Guidice , Christopher Ireland

The Coaching Habit: Michael Bungay Stanier

Good to Great: Jim Collins

The Art of Stillness: Pico Iyer

Extreme Ownership: Jocko Willink

Expect to Win: Carla Harris

Shoe Dog: Phil Knight

The Manager’s Path: Camille Fournier

The Effective Executive: Peter Drucker

The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership: John C. Maxwell

Awesomely Simple: John Spence

Turn the Ship Around: L. David Marquet

Tribal Leadership: Dave Logan

Huge, huge thanks to all of the awesome folks who contributed suggestions to this list! You can check out the original Twitter thread here, and the LinkedIn thread here. I hope you enjoy these books and that they help you along your journey in leadership!

--

--

Jennifer Aldrich
Inside Design

Freelance UX Writer and Content Strategist at Creative Flame LLC: http://www.LinkedIn/in/jenniferaldrich1 (© 2014–2023 Jennifer Aldrich)