Career Contemplations: 7 questions to an iOS Developer

Hannah Fuhrmann
FREENOW Blog
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2020

Liliana shares what it’s like, what she does and why it’s amazing.

Liliana, iOS Developer at FREE NOW team in Hamburg

What do you do at FREE NOW?

I am an iOS developer, which means that I develop, maintain, and optimize the iOS app of FREE NOW.

1.What made you decide to pursue a career in tech?

I pretty much jumped into a university course in computer science and loved it. I realized it was something very practical, I was pretty good at it and it was a lot of fun! Also, I’m able to have an impact on people’s lives by developing products that can reach users very quickly and solve their problems.

2. What do you like most about your job?

It’s a very pragmatic job; I solve problems every day and use my creativity to find the best solution.
The work environment in tech companies is also super nice; people are friendly and respectful, they are very supportive and fun, working hours are mostly flexible and it’s possible to work from home if the weather is bad or we feel like staying in our pajamas.
We get to go out with colleagues, so they sometimes become friends, and most of the time, tech companies are very international. It’s also possible to have beautiful cultural conversations and learn a lot of things even outside the tech topics.
I also love the fancy colors in my text editors by the way (e.g. Xcode).

3. Who do you find inspiring?

I love seeing women rock the work-life balance. It is no secret that women have a harder time doing this. Some of us dream of a happy family but also of a successful career, and society right now is not yet ready for it, even if it is getting better. So when I see women who get to be awesome leads and awesome family members (whether with or without kids) I feel super inspired. I want to be like those women, I want it all and I am ready to fight for it.

4. What would you say to someone starting out in tech?

In the beginning, it won’t be easy, it will be challenging, your work will be judged and criticized often.

You will be able to accept these kinds of things and remember that they help you to get better. Every mistake you make will make you stronger, every time you feel wrong in a meeting because you maybe don’t understand anything they say, or know you’re actually right. If you’re scared, it means that you’re in the right place.
You will need to live with discomfort and let it be your strength, your friend, and use it as a way to become better every day.
I don’t know if there will be a time where all of this gets better, but trust me, if it comes you’ll not like it anymore.

5. What is the most useful skill?

Communication. Tech skills will come, you’ll learn them, it’s inevitable if you work in this field. But in this world, you’ll need to use very open and direct communication to avoid misunderstandings and wrong interpretations.

Having a good relationship with the people of your team is key to feel successful, strong, and happy.

6. What has your experience been so far as a woman in tech?

I am super happy to be in this field, I never felt discriminated against and I always feel included and supported. My male colleagues are amazing, they don’t treat me as a ‘woman in tech’ but as a person, a developer, a pro in my field.
My advice is not to feel like a ‘woman in...’ but feel like a professional, no matter which gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or whatever minority you feel belonging to.

7. How did you get involved or stay in touch with the tech community in Hamburg?

I regularly take part in meetups here in Hamburg. I am a co-organizer of the CocoaHeads meetups which focus on iOS development, but I also go to other ones that are specific for women in tech and diversity.

Would you like to get the chance to work in our Hamburg HQ? Check out our open opportunities here.

--

--