Being a Huntington’s Disease role model for my kids

Steven Beatty
Inside Huntington’s Disease
2 min readApr 15, 2016

Twice over the past couple of weeks I’ve heard about the importance of being a good Huntington’s Disease role model for my kids. Once from my Psychiatrist at my recent appointment and secondly from an episode of Help4HD radio.

They talked about the fact that, as my kids grow up and learn about HD, they’re going to look to me as an example for how to manage and cope as someone living with Huntington’s Disease.

This is so important and I really took it to heart.

Am I going to show them that once I learned of my positive diagnosis for the HD gene mutation, I just curled up on the couch and said “to hell with it, I’m doomed anyway”?

Hell no.

Am I going to demonstrate unhealthy living because, well, why bother being healthy?

No way.

They need to see me exercising. Jogging. Maintaining a positive attitude. They need to see me be strong and fight and do everything I can to raise awareness and funds for this disease. They need to look to me and be proud of how I went about my life.

Like I said, this concept really hit home.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m worried about my kids watching me deteriorate and knowing that they may be in store to live through the same fate. I need to suck it up and be that strong role model they need to see.

Be that example they might have to look back on someday and say, “well, how did Dad handle this?”

--

--

Steven Beatty
Inside Huntington’s Disease

AUTHOR: In-Between Years: Life after a positive Huntington's disease test