The Student Series: Meet Some of League’s Summer Students

Anne Orr
Inside League
Published in
6 min readAug 8, 2019

I had the pleasure of sitting down with five of our summer interns at League. These amazing students are working on a variety of projects with many teams across the company, including Growth Marketing, Benefits Advisory, People & Culture and Finance. These talented students are really owning the work they are doing, and most importantly having a great experience, League.

“I am so proud to say that I work at League! Everyone here is so invested and engaged in what we are doing and the problem we are trying to solve. Healthcare touches everyone’s life and I’m lucky to have worked at League!” — Aidan

Intrigued to know what opportunities exist for students at League? Keep reading.

Anne: Thanks so much for taking the time out of your busy days to hang out with me! How would each of you sum up your experience at League using only three words?

*All students look at me as though I’m out to lunch.*

(Three minutes later…)

Morgan: I would say challenging, I was given ownership and it’s been really rewarding to spend my summer here.

Bryan: It’s been a challenging experience where I’ve been stretched and free to work on my projects. It’s also been different to what I initially expected… in a good way.

Alex: I’ve been growing while working in an exciting environment. I’d also say that I’ve been flourishing here.

Aidan: It’s been a fast environment and League is providing me with a data-driven role which has been really rewarding while I’ve been working on challenging work.

Eric: It’s a really easy-going environment which is fun and allows me to be comfortable with the work that I’m doing.

(Left to right: Eric, Aidan, Morgan and Bryan and Alex)

Anne: Those are all awesome! I know a bit about what you do and where you are working, but give me the details about yourself and your time at League.

Eric: I’ve been helping develop the pipeline for sales which has been really interesting so far. I do research to identify who could become future clients that could end up in our sales pipeline to be potential customers. It’s really interesting to see how we can grow League.

Alex: I’ve been focusing my Finance Department work specifically on accounts receivable and working with collections and dealing with outstanding accounts. It’s been really interesting and I’ve learnt a lot!

Bryan: I’m working on the Benefits Advisory team. I’m analysing quarterly business reviews and lots of data from clients to have better insight into the renewal process and premiums.

Morgan: I’m the employer brand intern on the People & Culture Team. My role this summer was to articulate League’s employer brand and align it with who we say we are at League and understand how it plays out in our employer experience. It’s been awesome!

Aidan: I’ve been working on the Growth Marketing Team which really is a cross-disciplinary team looking at a variety of statistics, brand marketing and analytics to help our sales team.

Anne: Sounds like you’ve all been really busy this summer! What’s been something that’s really stood out to you during your time here at League?

Aidan: There is so much trust put in every student which is amazing. I’m treated like a full-time employee and there was so much trust put into me, even though I had limited experience in the space before I joined League. I was expected to accomplish my work to help with driving the company forward. It’s been really rewarding.

Anne: How do you describe a day in the life of Bryan?

Bryan: I have a really open team that let me join them in a lot of onsite meetings with clients. I’ve been exposed to a lot of great resources and information to learn and my team is awesome. It’s a great experience to work in a 200+ person company compared to large insurance companies I’ve worked at before.

Anne: How would you describe your co-op as being different from what you initially expected?

Alex: I’ve been learning so much more than I thought I would! I’m thrown into different projects that I’m interested in and I’m given a lot of accountability to run with things and to learn as much as I can in four months.

Anne: Morgan, with your Employer Brand discovery project, you’ve been talking to a lot of people here at League. Who has really stood out to you?

Morgan: *Thinks for a bit* Hmm… that’s a tough question — there are so many awesome people at League! Danielle is really inspiring. It’s great to see how successful a young woman (who also went to Queen’s) can be so early on in her career. She just made the list for Canada’s Top 50 Women in FinTech which is amazing! She’s also so approachable, friendly and I really aspire to that.

Anne: What is a word of advice you might want to share with an incoming co-op student?

Eric: Definitely apply, it’s a great experience! There is so much transparency across the organization and you can see how your work relates to other areas. We use OKRs which is great for seeing exactly what your work is doing and how your work contributes to the overall picture.

Anne: At League we have so much going on — including community engagement, Heath@Work Services and so much more. What are some things that you’ve been able to do outside of your day job?

Alex: The yoga after work on Wednesday is amazing!

Aidan: I think it’s really cool that we’re able to log into the app and check out different promotions in the Marketplace, interact with different products and services, do the Health Challenges and earn points while getting healthier.

Morgan: I’ve been able to join the Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging Celebrations Committee which has been awesome. It’s great to be able to contribute to the organization and really embrace and celebrate all of our employees for who they are. I’ve also been able to take the lead with some People & Culture initiatives, including a Spinathon to support the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation and raise over $22,000 as an organization. I also enjoyed the student program including lunch & learns and coffee chats with our execs.

Anne: What are some other highlights of being at League?

*Summed up to some key points*

  • Very accepting colleagues here and they really care about what you have to say
  • So much room to be innovative
  • The office space → you aren’t confined to one area of the office, we have standing desks and there are tons of collaboration spots around the office
  • Ritual lunches on Wednesday
  • Weekly Townhall with the whole company

Anne: What is some advice you’d give someone interested in applying for a role at League?

Morgan: Don’t come to League if you just want to sit back and observe — instead really be proactive in your work and carve out your job for yourself. My team has been great at facilitating introductions across the organization and I’ve even been lucky enough to work with execs on a video because of it.

Bryan: The work here you do really matters!

Eric: People make time in their day for you to learn and grow.

Alex: People at League are very willing to share their time. We have high exposure to influential people which is incredible as an intern. You can also pave your own path here that’s in line with organizational goals — it’s a great feeling to do that!

Aidan: I am so proud to say that I work at League! We are doing incredible work and solving a real-world issue surrounding health care and insurance. Everyone here is so invested and engaged in what we are doing and the problem we are trying to solve. Healthcare touches everyone’s life and I’m lucky to have worked at League.

Interested in learning about student opportunities at League? Feel free to reach out!

--

--