The Lift Quantified Diet Experiment

My contribution to science is not so radical

Marcey Rader
2 min readJan 2, 2014

As a Power User, Coach for Lift and creator of the 25 in 25® and 10 by 10™, I was excited to sign up for the Quantified Diet Project. Excited and nervous. I eat a healthy diet about 85% of the time and have eaten plant-based for almost 20 years. I eat at least 5-6 servings of veggies/fruits a day, 1-3 servings of grains, healthy fats and just recently in the last month reintroduced fish or wild bison 3 times. The day of my assignment I was nervous because I didn’t want to be assigned something that was boring, like the control or calorie-counting group, and knew that Paleo would be hard for someone who prefers not to eat flesh. In the end, the diet I was assigned to is the one I pretty much already do, which is the Whole Foods diet. I eat very little processed foods now so it really won’t be a change.

My reason behind doing this was as a contribution to science. Having worked in the clinical research industry on the drug/device and biotech side for the last 13 years, I am happy to be part of research for nutrition. I believe that most of our ailments are the result of our actions and can be corrected or cured by our actions. Do you have your disease/syndrome/symptom because of happenstance or did you give it to yourself? Be honest.

Even though I got assigned my current diet, I’m still looking forward to taking part in the discussions and helping others who are new at it. I like seeing that my cousin and one of my coaches has taken on the challenge. The ones they were assigned will be challenging for them. Will they make it to the end? Who knows, but they are already 10 steps ahead with every attempt that they make.

Are you up for the challenge? Are you scared? So is everyone else. Change is scary but now you have a support system to help you do it. Sign up. I’ll be really surprised if I hear someone say they wish they hadn’t tried.

--

--

Marcey Rader

I write, speak, and coach on Health-Powered Productivity. I'm writing all my posts at www.helloraderco.com/blog. Visit me over there!