“Hey, do you want to go on tv and talk about non-monogamy?”

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau
4 min readJul 24, 2019

--

I got an interesting inquiry from a UK production company

Photo by Loewe Technologies on Unsplash

A few days ago I was approached via email by a Casting Assistant Producer for a UK based production company to see if I was interested in participating in their upcoming project on polyamory. As it turned out, they were only looking for people within the UK and so the decision about whether or not to go forward with this ended up being made for us. But for a day or so there James and I really thought about it.

My initial reaction when I first read the message was, “Absolutely not!” I have never had any desire to appear on television. Maybe that’s something that many people aspire to, but not me. Here’s why: as a writer, and a primarily self-published one, I have a lot of control over how I interface with the public. I may talk about my life very openly here, but I do it from behind an avatar and a nom de plume and I know ahead of time what is going out to the public.

My impression of TV, particularly for a show like this, is that we’d have little say in what was ultimately broadcast. And for a topic as intimate and central to my life as this one, that just didn’t…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung