I’m Sometimes Attracted To Teenaged Boys

But that doesn’t mean that I have to do anything about it

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

--

Photo by Sharon Christina Rørvik on Unsplash

The other day my autistic son’s caregiver, who is also my good friend, had to go to an appointment and her 17-year-old boy brought Hugh home instead. Evan is a nice young man who introduces my son to other people as his brother. He’s also 6'4, athletic-looking, and handsome in the way that only 17-year-old young men can be. Evan has that strapping vigor of youth that so many boys his age have. It’s very virile, very attractive!

It’s not like I’m consciously thinking, “Well, damn — he’s cute. I wonder what he’s like in bed?” At 55, I’m old enough to potentially be Evan’s grandmother. But none-the-less, sometimes my body reacts that way to young men without my conscious consent. There’s a physical response that takes place that I can’t control; a moment of animal attraction. I’ve had this happen to me with much younger men a few times in the past, and I might even enjoy it at the moment, but then I chalk it up to nature and continue on with my business as usual.

Because of these experiences, I completely understand when middle-aged men feel the same kind of attraction to supple, fresh-faced, young women. But the difference between me and at least some of those men is that I never, ever do anything about those feelings. I don’t…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung