Jedi in the Rain

A Poem

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau
1 min readOct 16, 2018

--

Image: Pexels

I’m the only one bold enough to walk my dog out in the rain.

I’ve got on my water-proof coat; the one with a deep hood that makes me look like a Jedi.

I let the dog off his leash and he races around with abandon, while I stride on purposefully, oblivious to the wet and the cold.

Until we hit a hidden slick spot and I go down hard on the concrete, bruising my knee and wrenching my back.

“So much for being a Jedi,” I say, as I limp the rest of the way home.

© Copyright Elle Beau 2020
Elle Beau writes on Medium about sex, life, relationships, society, anthropology, spirituality, and love. If this story is appearing anywhere other than Medium.com, it appears without my consent and has been stolen.I have to lay there in the puddle for a while before I can even gather myself enough to stand up.

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung