My Life Seems Scandalous To A Lot of People

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau
5 min readDec 2, 2020

--

That’s why it’s so important for me to have a community where I can talk about it freely

Photo by Taylor Harding on Unsplash

James and I have been non-monogamous for less than 6 years, but it still feels really comfortable and right to us. I know this way of living isn’t for everybody, but to us, it’s now so natural that I sometimes forget that to most of the rest of the world, it’s kind of scandalous. I remember that most people don’t live as we do, but I do sometimes forget that it would shock a lot of them if they knew the truth.

The main purpose of etiquette and manners is to help people feel comfortable. When you know what’s expected of you and how to behave in different situations then awkwardness or social discomfort is a lot less likely to take place, which means that everyone can enjoy themselves. At least that’s the theory. But beyond basic kindness and civility, what’s considered polite conversation might vary from person to person and situation to situation. And if you live in ways that most people consider unconventional, as we do, then engaging in polite conversation often means holding back a lot of what is real and true for us.

For example, there aren’t all that many friends or acquaintances to whom I can tell the story about the time that James and I went to Las Vegas to spend time with one of the guys from the Gigolos TV show and I…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung