That’s Not An Example Of Misandry

Calling out patriarchy isn’t the same thing as hating men

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

--

Photo by Luz Fuertes on Unsplash

mis·an·dry

/miˈsandrē/

noun

  1. dislike of, contempt for, or ingrained prejudice against men (i.e. the male sex).

On the morning of the Senate vote over whether or not to elevate Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court, I felt an overwhelming sense of despair. Like so many other people that day, I was dismayed that someone who was an obvious liar was being excused of that because his lies and the people they hurt didn’t really matter to those in power. It’s widely known that “Devil’s Triangle” is not a drinking game and was never a drinking game, and is instead, what it’s called when one woman and two men have sex. Kavanaugh answered Yes or No questions with long, rambling rants, another common tell that someone is lying. But this was all excused and overlooked and some people even felt sorry for him in the process.

That morning I said to my husband James, “I don’t know a time when I haven’t been mad at men.” His somewhat surprising answer was, “I understand. I feel the same.” His school years had been full of being bullied by coaches and given a hard time by random assholes for no good reason. Patriarchy is a type of dominance hierarchy and position in it is gotten and…

--

--

Elle Beau ❇︎
Inside of Elle Beau

Social scientist dispelling cultural myths with research-driven stories. "Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge." ~ Carl Jung