What it’s like starting a new software engineering job during a pandemic

Gina Beach
Inside SumUp
Published in
6 min readFeb 2, 2021

Many of us spent the lockdown testing our luck with a sourdough starter or tending to our newly-formed collection of houseplants. Stan Spasov and Ivan Deskov, however, spent it packing their things, moving from the UK back to their home country of Bulgaria and starting new careers as Engineers at SumUp. Here’s their story.

software engineers at SumUp
Stan Spasov (top) and Ivan Deskov (bottom), Software Engineers @ SumUp

Tell us a little about your background and career before SumUp

Stan: I’ve been a Java Backend Engineer for about 3 years. The majority of my career has been spent in investment banking, working with people from all over the world. Only recently have I moved to SumUp and worked with smaller teams.

Ivan: My career started back in 2012 as a Mobile Developer for Android. I’ve pretty much worked as a Backend Engineer since then, except for a short stint building web UIs and returning to Android. I’ve worked for companies of all sizes, from a team of 3 to global corporations like Amex.

And what were you doing in the UK?

Stan: Back in 2014, I moved to the UK to study computer science in London. During that time I did a bunch of internships both in the UK and back home in Bulgaria. I was fortunate enough to get a job offer at the end of one of these internships. After completing my bachelors, I spent another 2 years working as a Software Engineer in one of the largest investment banks.

Ivan: I relocated to the UK from Bulgaria in 2014 mainly seeking career growth and to take advantage of the IT industry opportunities that it had to offer. The idea was to move around to experience various technologies, ways of working and to collaborate with different teams. It paid off. Since then, I’ve developed software for various industries, from accountancy and education to helping build Amex’s own cloud platform.

What’s your technology of choice?

Stan: While working in London, I mainly used Java, Spring and occasionally Python. Back then our number one priority was latency, everything ran co-located with stock exchanges. We used a lot of proprietary software for deployment and management. Nowadays, I’ve moved on to more industry-standard tools.

Ivan: In recent years I’ve mainly worked with Kotlin and Spring for backend development. I’ve also worked a bit with React and Go. I really appreciate anything I can really get my hands dirty with. In terms of cloud tech, I’ve worked with Google’s GKE and self-hosted Openshift from RedHat, but also some AWS.

What made you want to move back to Bulgaria?

Ivan: Life in the UK became way too comfortable. I needed a new challenge to get myself out of my comfort zone. I didn’t feel like just changing jobs would do, it needed to be bigger. I thought about relocating to either Asia or back home. In the end, I chose to be closer to my family and face my old and new reality. I was curious to see how much I have changed and how my perspective of my hometown has changed since living abroad. So far, it’s been a great experience.

How did you hear about SumUp and what position did you initially apply for?

Stan: I was browsing LinkedIn and came across several SumUp job offers. If I remember correctly, I applied for the position of Java/Kotlin Backend Developer.

Ivan: SumUp came up in one of my searches on jobs.bg. I think it was advertised as Java Engineer, but I remember Kotlin being mentioned a lot as well.

What was the SumUp recruitment process like for you?

Stan: It was very straightforward. It started with a phone interview that was followed by a coding challenge and an on-site interview. Overall, the interview process was very pleasant which left me a very good impression of SumUp as a company and employer. So much so that I accepted the job offer after only a day.

Ivan: It was during late November, early December so it was a bit of a funny period. Many people were on holiday already so it took some time to get a final offer. Overall though, it was a very smooth and pleasant experience. Actually, a much better experience than I’ve had elsewhere, which is why it only took me an hour to accept the offer.

What really made you want to join SumUp?

Ivan: I believe the only way to survive in this dog-eat-dog world is to have a clear vision of who you are and where you want to be. SumUp has this great purpose and it’s complemented by the fact that they know who they are and what they want to achieve. This is attractive for both customers and employees. Also, SumUp is a tech-driven company which allows engineers to unlock their full potential. This is a must for me.

What was it like relocating amidst the first wave of the pandemic?

Stan: Well, apart from my original flight being cancelled and having to rebook last minute, it wasn’t too bad. At the time, I was so eager to move back home that I didn’t really pay much attention to the pandemic other than taking precaution to ensure the safety of myself and those around me. Just remember to wear a mask!

Ivan: Well, I wouldn’t say I enjoyed it [laughs]. There was a lot of uncertainty, frustrations with the airlines and an inability to make concrete plans. But the hardest part, and what I regret most, is not being able to say a proper goodbye to all my friends back in the UK. At the end of the day, you learn, adapt and just keep on moving forward.

How did SumUp support your transition?

Stan: SumUp was very flexible when it came down to my starting date. I had to spend some time back in the UK before I joined, so this adaptability was helpful. What’s more, I actually had another job offer lined up around the same time as my interview with SumUp. To help accommodate the situation, the SumUp team was very responsive and able to quickly schedule interviews within a short period of time.

Ivan: Due to cancelled flights and uncertainty with quarantine rules, I ended up needing more time than originally planned before leaving the UK. I started working for SumUp while still in the UK, which obviously required the People Team to be very adaptive and flexible when it came to things like paperwork. The SumUp team was extremely sympathetic and allowed me to transition at my own pace which was really nice. The team was always there for me to quickly clarify questions about my working arrangements and Bulgarian law. Every step of the process was transparent and made it super easy for me to trust and feel comfortable with my employer.

What was it like working in Bulgaria after spending so much time in the UK?

Stan: Well, I didn’t have to look for accommodation, so coming back home was a breeze. I find the work-life balance here to be so much better than the UK with the added bonus of being free from that 1 to 2-hour commute to and from the office. I think one of my biggest fears coming back was that the work wouldn’t be challenging enough to keep me engaged. I can safely say that this is not the case.

Ivan: Even though I’m Bulgarian and was raised in Bulgaria, I found the move challenging. It’s just the fact that I spent so many years in another country and became acclimated to a different culture and way of communicating with people. One of the most valuable things you can do in life is to change your perspective. It’s worth going through a shift like this every once in a while as it’s quite enrichening.

Do you have any advice for others considering a career change during a pandemic?

Ivan: Be patient. A lot can go wrong and plans can, and probably will change. Don’t be afraid to let go of short-term plans and rapidly change course if needed, especially if it brings you closer to your ultimate goal.

Think a career at a fast-growing fintech might be for you? Check out our openings here.

--

--