Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Medium vs. Custom Blog

4 Tips To Help You Decide if You Should Make Medium Your Primary Blog

The Pros and Cons of Audience Building on Medium

4 min readDec 16, 2023

--

I ran a search on the number of social media platforms with at least 100 million active users and Google threw at me a Wikipedia list of 35 platforms.

I asked a similar question on ChatGPT and got another “Prominent list” of 45 social media platforms.

The latter list didn’t include substack and some of the new-gen platforms.

The point is, that deciding a platform to call your creative home isn’t a simple decision anymore.

Apart from all these ready-made platforms you also have the option to customise a corner on the internet in the form of your customised blog.

So, if you are new to the world of writing, how do you decide which is the best platform for you?

I’ve lived in this conundrum for a long time before diving fully and turning my focus and energy towards Medium.

If I publish an article tomorrow, I’ll have published an article a day for 10 months straight.

It’s the stuff of dreams.

--

--

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)