A Writer’s Ebb & Flow

Though frustrating, the ups and downs of writing are a part of the package!

Sharon's Writerly Musings
Inside The Mind Of A Writer
3 min readJun 12, 2023

--

A brown and white cat with a frustrated look on its face.
Photo by 傅甬 华 on Unsplash

Ten years ago, my family and I visited the Outer Banks in North Carolina. Summer was about to graduate into Fall. So, we had one more chance to run through the sand and surf. The wind rolling off the sea was brisk, and my older boys stubbornly kept their sweaters open.

On the horizon, I could see the beginning of a storm. The clouds were a combination of light and darker shades of grey. My middle son yelled out, “Mom! Look at those Cumulonimbus clouds!” He had a weather project at school and became obsessed with seeing Cumulus clouds. I thought meteorology was in his future. But instead, he has become a rising professional musician, which is just as awesome!

A white piece of paper with “Hooray” written in gold script.
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

The ebb and flow of the waves were rough. Red flags dotting the beach warned visitors that swimming was not permitted. When I looked down at my feet, the surf moved in and snatched the sand from beneath them. Jumping up, my boys and I ran farther up the shore. The water (at least to me) was freezing!

The night before our beachy jaunt, a local pizza shop owner gave my youngest musketeer a small, black-netted pouch so he could collect seashells. With the help of his older brothers, he gathered a great stash. I peeked inside his bag when he let me (he had become protective of his bounty). The shells were different shades of white, black, and grey. There were rough, medium-sized shells and smaller ones that were smooth to the touch. But I was also pleased to see pieces that were once part of a whole — shades of beige, purple, and pink that had not lost their beauty or luster.

Seashells of different shapes and sizes on the beach.
Photo by Olmes Sosa on Unsplash

As writers, our attitude is positive at the beginning of our journey. We exude confidence, our shade, if you will, is vibrant. The idea for our book (or whatever creative project we’re working on) is like a seashell. It starts off new and whole, with no interference from the outside world. Our vision (the pearl) can be cultivated and developed into a first draft.

However, there is always a chance that a storm will roll in and hammer you against the shore. Weakening and sometimes shattering your shell or your resolve. Your shade becomes gloomy and dark, exposing your pearl or idea to the elements. These elements can come in the form of negativity, distractions, or just life. And if you are not careful, you’ll look up one day and see your idea broken into pieces like the seashells I saw scattered across the sand.

A storm coming in over the sea.
Photo by Gatis Vilaks on Unsplash

As I rubbed my thumb against one of the shells my little one was kind enough to share with me, I wondered: Is it possible to pick up the pieces and start again?

I believe you can. You may read this and think, “Give me a break! That is easier said than done!” But if you had the determination and patience to write your story, why not do it again? There are so many singers out there that go undiscovered because they tried and then gave up after a few rejections. The same can be said for creatives. Next time you find yourself frustrated from your “ebbs and flows,” think of the song by the music group Journey, “Don’t Stop Believin’!”

Until next time!

Sharon-

Stay connected with Inside the Mind of a Writer for insightful posts on writing, philosophy, and personal development. Want to contribute as a writer? Click here to learn how!

--

--

Sharon's Writerly Musings
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

Sharon, an author and freelance creative writer is actively working towards publishing her first novel.