Am I writing?

Or tapping?

Wendy Jane Farrow
Inside The Mind Of A Writer
2 min readMay 2, 2023

--

I have just responded to an article I read. I giggled to myself when I typed a certain word.

That word is ‘writing’.

When I was in primary school, oh so many years ago (puts back of hand on forehead for effect), I learnt to write, using a pencil on paper. When my teacher decided that I was proficient enough, I was allowed to graduate to using a pen!

Photo by Tong Nguyen van on Unsplash

And now I am writing a story on a computer! Writing? or tapping out?

I find writing to be a misnomer for what I do on the keyboard. But what else should I call it? I am putting words out in the universe to be read by anyone who chooses to look at them. So by definition I am writing. The Oxford dictionary tells me that writing is the activity or occupation of composing text for publication. I am composing text, therefore I am writing.

Anyway, saying “I am writing a story today,” sounds so much better than, “I am tapping out a story on my keyboard today.”

Photo by Mimi Thian on Unsplash

As I said, I had a giggle today when I wrote the word ‘writing’, as I often do. I thought you might like to giggle with me.

I also decided that I would publish this first draft in Inside The Mind Of A Writer as encouraged by Fransisco Iglesias.

Thank you for reading, and potentially giggling.

--

--

Wendy Jane Farrow
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

Cats, Crafts and Nature Lover, Freelance Editor, Loving Life in the Beautiful New Zealand Countryside! Check it out: Wendy Jane Farrow (commasandtense.com)