My experience with the 10-day meditation course.

Dhammshil Kaninde
Inside The Mind Of A Writer
4 min readApr 11, 2024
Image by Diana Light on Pexels

In September 2022 I went for 10-day meditation course. I had to apply several times to get this course. As that was my first time, I was a little nervous and more excited.

There are different kinds of meditation techniques and I enrolled was Vipassana Meditation. First, I did all the documentation formality then I had to submit all the things that I carried except clothes, soap, toothpaste, and a brush.

To just focus only on meditation, they kept us away from all the things no mobile, no other electronic gadgets, no money, no books to read even no pen and paper.

The coordinator gave separate rooms for all candidates so that we don’t talk to each other. For the 10 days, I did not talk to anyone except the Guruji, even not with a volunteer. We all were unaware of what was happening outside the campus, that was like a different world.

Image by Maik Kleinert on Pexels

The feeling was good because the first time I lived with no mobile, no friends, no distractions, no attraction just one thing that was meditation.

Daily routines

The first day started at 4:00 AM, and a volunteer was going to everyone’s door and ringing the bell to wake up all.

The first session started at 4:30 AM and lasted for 2 hours then at 6:30 AM, we went for breakfast.

Breakfast time was from 6:30 to 08:00 and we had rest or other things like showering and washing clothes.

The second session started at 08:00 for 1 hour.

The third session started at 09:00, which was for 2 hours, 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM lunch break and 12:00 to 01:00 rest and interview with the teacher.

The fourth session started at 01:00 PM and lasted 2 hours 30 minutes.

The fifth session started at 02:30 PM which was for 1 hour.

The sixth session started at 03:30 PM for 1 hour 30 minutes. 05:00 to 06:00 was a tea break. Breakfast and tea for new students and only lemon juice for old students.

The seventh session of the day was from 06:00 PM to 07:00 PM.

The eighth and last session of the day was from 07:00 PM to 09:00 PM. At 09:00 PM we went to bed to sleep.

This was the daily routine for all 10 days.

Image by cottonbro studio on Pexels

After the completion of the course on the 11th day, the guruji and the other students were talking about me. Initially, I thought I did something wrong everyone was looking at my face.

I decided to ask one student and he said you are the only one who was most consistent for the last 10 days. It was good to hear praise but honestly speaking, I did the course from my heart.

Every day we had to sit for approximately 12 hours so everyone had back pain and neck pain problems, but I was okay. I also had problems after all I am also human but not like them.

On the 11th day, we received all our submitted valuables. And we’re free to do everything like talking, calling, photos, etc.

For the 10 days, we all were together but felt like we were not together. Because we were not allowed to talk with anyone. Except me and 2–3 more students, all people came from well-established families.

Image by Sharefaith on Pexels

That day I realized without money, fame, and power how everyone are same. During the course, no one was interested in each other but when the course was completed people saw the reality of who has more power, and who is rich.

Within 1–2 hours groups formed there. Business people groups, student groups, workers groups, and caste. Where there is money and fame, ego automatically comes.

The 10-day meditation course taught me not only Meditation but also very important lessons of life.

If you like this blog, then please don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments.

--

--

Dhammshil Kaninde
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

I am a Reader, Writer, Traveller, I love to read and express what I have learned though writing.