Balance in life is tough. Photo by: Sora Shimazaki on Pexels

Quantity Vs. Quality What Should You Focus On? The Perennial Dilemma for a Novice Writer

Nimish Jalan
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

--

On which end of the spectrum do you lie?

Quality or Quantity?

The debate of quality vs. quantity has been raging across domains throughout history.
As a creator, it is important to settle this debate early to have a clear focus, direction and strategy.

I’ve had this chatter in my head for a long time. Finally, earlier this year I decided to publish every single day for 12 months straight.

But, yesterday, I stumbled upon this fantastic article. And it resonated so much with me that it got me wondering again.
Was I wasting my time trying to publish mediocre articles every day for the next 12 months? Or was I on the right track?

My thought process behind publishing every day

  1. It’s hard, it requires me to leave my comfort zone. Growth takes place outside of safety.
  2. Consistency has been my kryptonite. Last year, I failed twice trying to publish every day and so I wanted to try again. Clearly, I am stubborn and egoistic.
  3. I am a beginner, I am convinced I need to produce quantity before I could produce quality.
  4. I’ve been meaning to break my old patterns. This challenge is crazy compared to anything I’ve done or achieved so far.

For a long time, I’ve been meaning to escape the 9–5. Writing seemed to provide that opportunity. It can be done from anywhere and it can help influence and sell products.

With Quality

  1. Competition is less intense.
  2. Quality helps you find fans quicker.
  3. You grab attention and hold it for longer.

With Quantity

  1. You spread your risk.
  2. You increase your chances of being seen.
  3. You experiment more, make more mistakes and thus improve faster

Our Ecosystem

  1. Attention spans are getting shorter.
  2. As a creator, you never know which piece of your art will take off.
  3. Poor quality creations, train your recipient to ignore your content.
  4. With more content, competition is growing and discovery is getting harder.

Conclusion

Publishing every day seems easier, now that I’ve published upwards of 100 articles every day. It is painful in the short term but it helps build momentum.

The illusion of perfection ends up paralysing and stopping me from taking action. It entangles my thinking and stops me from creating.

Consistency is the common thread among the best creators, performers, entrepreneurs, experts, etc. The more you create, the better you get.

I know the competition is tough but I am hoping to leave it behind by creating every day.

This is my driving force.

Ideally, I’d like to approach this from a balanced perspective where I can churn out both high-quality and quantity articles.

The question still remains, where do you lie in the spectrum of quality vs. quantity?

I’d urge you to leave a comment especially, if you do not agree with me.

Stay connected with Inside the Mind of a Writer for insightful posts on writing, philosophy, and personal development. Want to contribute as a writer? Click here to learn how!

Get more exposure here.

--

--

Nimish Jalan
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)