Photo By: Francisco De Legarreta C

Behind the Scenes of Building Followers

The 1 Mistake Slowing My Audience Growth For 8 Months Straight

The Truth Behind Audience Growth

2 min readOct 18, 2023

--

Audience building is hard work.

I’m doing it for the nth time and it never gets easy.

It requires skill, discipline, dedication, resilience, acceptance and much much more.

I’ve grown steadily for the past 8 months. But, when I look back, I now know I could’ve grown faster.

While I feel I’m exactly where I need to be, if growing your audience is critical to you, you can avoid the mistake I’ve made.

Almost every single day, I’ve been winging my articles.

This has been a pattern throughout my life. I’ve been winging it at school, at work, in relationships, etc.

I haven’t spared this article either.

This is a poor strategy.

For example, I’ve just broken the 500-follower mark today, but who knows? With better preparation, I might have reached an even larger audience.

It has only worked for me because I’ve been extreme with my writing habits.

I’ve always considered preparation overrated but I’ve been wrong.

Preparation separates you from your competition.

If growth is what you’re after, make sure you prepare yourself and avoid such mistakes.

What’s your Modus Operandi? Do you come into the field well prepared or do you wing it as well?

--

--

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)