When there is a conflict between mother-in-law and daughter-in-law.

Mother and wife conflict: Who should the son side with?

2bebetter
Inside The Mind Of A Writer
4 min readFeb 23, 2024

--

Dealing with Family Arguments: Husband’s Dilemma

Sometimes, husbands face a tough choice when their wives and mothers don’t get along. Who should they support, and did they do the right thing?

Photo by James Kovin on Unsplash

Recently, when my husband came home from work, I noticed my sister-in-law talking to her mom at dinner. I was worried about my pregnant wife, Manman, working so hard in the kitchen. I asked my husband to talk to his mom about it, but she got defensive and said she didn’t work hard during her pregnancy.

Luckily, my sister-in-law agreed with us and said she was happy my husband was spending time with us. I asked her to cook dinner to ease the tension, but this upset my mother-in-law more. My husband stood up for us and asked his mom to be considerate since Manman was pregnant. We ended up leaving together to find a less stressful place to live.

One day, while Manman was relaxing on the balcony, she told my husband she wanted to go back home once things calmed down. He understood but reminded her that husbands often have to support their wives in family matters. He promised to take care of everything.

Later, my husband went back to his mom’s house. She was upset and asked him to bring Manman back. He explained that Manman felt bad about what happened and that they’d come back after the baby was born. He also said they’d take care of her and suggested having family dinners.

During one of these dinners, my mother-in-law cooked a delicious meal, showing she cared about Manman. This taught us that understanding, and communication are important in family problems.

To sum up, by being understanding and talking things out, families can solve tough situations and stay close.

  • Family Arguments: This story is about a husband who has to choose between his wife and mother when they argue.
  • Husband’s Choice: It shows how the husband decides to support his wife and what happens next.
  • Solving Problems: By talking and understanding each other, families can fix their problems and stay together.
  • Family Dynamics: Here discusses a conflict between a mother-in-law and a pregnant daughter-in-law.
  • Husband’s Role: It highlights the husband’s dilemma in choosing between supporting his wife or his mother in the conflict.
  • Conflict Resolution: The husband eventually takes a stand for his wife, leading to them moving out and seeking their own space.
  • Emotional Intelligence and Communication: The importance of EQ and effective communication in handling family disputes is emphasized.
  • Resolution and Compromise: Ultimately, a balanced approach involving understanding, compromise, and better communication is advocated to navigate complex family relationships.
Photo by Mark Stosberg on Unsplash

When my husband came home from work, I noticed my sister-in-law chatting with her mother-in-law at the dinner table. I urged my husband to ask his mother to stop making my pregnant wife, Manman, work so hard in the kitchen. The mother-in-law responded defensively, reminding us how she didn’t do any work when she was pregnant with her sons.

However, my sister-in-law supported us, expressing her happiness that my husband was finally spending time with us. I asked her to cook a meal and stop acting upset all day. In response, the mother-in-law scolded us and dared us to make my son throw her out if we wanted to control the family. Angry, my husband stood up and asked his mother to lower her voice, considering that Manman was pregnant and still doing chores. He emphasized that if she didn’t love a man, she should at least love the child in her womb. Then, we left the house together.

A few days later, we rented a house in the suburbs, where life became less stressful. One day, while my wife sat on the balcony, enjoying the sun, my husband prepared to leave for work. She touched her belly and took her husband’s hand, expressing her desire to go back home once things had calmed down.

Her husband understood but reminded her that the daughter-in-law’s position in the family is often influenced by the husband. He questioned how he could love her if she couldn’t handle that. He promised to take care of everything. After leaving, he took a taxi back to our mother’s house. His mother tearfully told him to come back with his wife. He explained that Manman had expressed regret over talking to her that way and suggested that we would return and find a job closer to home once she had the baby. He also assured his mother that we would take care of her at home. He mentioned wanting his son to bring his wife home for dinner on weekends. On one such weekend, the mother-in-law cooked a delicious meal, which clearly showed her love for her daughter-in-law.

Photo by Valeria Zoncoll on Unsplash

Emotional intelligence teaches us that there are no opposite relationships, only a lack of communication skills. By developing emotional intelligence, we can better navigate complex family relationships. Do you agree?

--

--

2bebetter
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."