Unlocking the Potential: Improving Data Access in the Music Industry

Addressing the challenges faced by independent management companies and the need for streamlined data aggregation

Paul G. Oliver
Inside the Music Industry
4 min readJun 17, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Over the last few months, I have been spending more and more time reading about issues of managing data in the music industry. It has gradually dawned on me that this topic is not going away and so I decided to go head-first into studying both academic and grey literature. So far, I have found plenty of academic research focusing on the theoretical implications of digital transformation, generative AI, and data governance; however, I have struggled to find studies that suggest practical implications for the music industry with a reliable and/or large enough sample of empirical data.

That-being-said, I did find a fascinating YouTube video about how music industry professionals are using data from tools like Spotify for Artists to grow fanbases for their artist clients, which was sparked my idea for this article (see below).

--

--