Course Reflection

Philipp Rammelt
Inside the News Media
2 min readJul 13, 2016

When I chose this seminar I was looking forward to learn more about the news media because I am generally not that much involved in the news. During the semester I believe I learned a lot about how news media work and how to critically examine articles on major news websites or programmes. It was interesting to find out about news values and how easily breaking news could be analysed. At first I was not so sure how well the writing of regular posts would go as it is very easy to write about things than concern oneself but very hard to find topics when you lack inspiration. I guess it went better than I expected and writing those posts helped me to improve my analysis of what I was posting about.

I enjoyed every topic that we were dealing with, however I had the feeling that there was a lot more potential for class discussions as the topic is perfect for sharing opinions. There were so many topics to talk about but mostly I shared my opinion with the person sitting next to me. Especially when we were talking about ethics I think there could have been a very lively discussion. Maybe a problem was that the seminar room did not have seats which could have been rearranged.

The presentations were comprehensible and provided good examples, especially the videos and graphs made it easy to follow. Further the professor was able to reply to questions with satisfying answers which also improved my understanding of the topic. The atmosphere in the course was pleasant as I felt being able to ask and say everything I was concerned with. I would definitely recommend this course because it gives a nice overview about the news media without being too specific.

--

--