Fashionable Elections: Who cares about political competence if you can dress to impress!?

Lena Brand
Inside the News Media
3 min readNov 12, 2016

Recent newspaper articles, radio reports and TV programs have been dominated by the 58th presidential elections in the United States of America. THE event that everyone has been talking about. The top candidates Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump have been shown on all different kinds of media services several times each and every day.

I wanted to learn more about their campaigns and their political programs. What are they planning on changing in the world’s third-largest country? What do they think of President Obama’s achievements? What is said about their political experiences? Well, ….. I started my research and pretty fast, I found an article that contained the following, incredibly important information:

“For the third consecutive presidential debate, Hillary Clinton went with a Ralph Lauren Collection cream-colored wool crepe curved-front jacket with horn buttons and matching wool crepe pants, a marked change from the navy one with a dove-gray lapel she wore for her last war of words with Trump earlier this month.

[…]

Trump, meanwhile, turned up in a dark Brioni suit and red necktie of his own, fielding questions from moderator Chris Wallace. A Trump spokeswoman said Wednesday night his suits are Brioni and he always wears one of his own ties.”

(Source: http://wwd.com/fashion-news/fashion-scoops/hillary-clinton-donald-trump-dress-final-fox-presidential-debate-10679739/)

Wow! Hillary Clinton did not only wear a “cream-colored wool crepe curved-front jacket”, but a “cream-colored wool crepe curved-front jacket with horn buttons”!! Honestly, what on earth is a wool crepe curved-front jacket? And more importantly, who cares? Does her political performance depend on her outfit and whether her wool crepe curved-front jacket with horn buttons is cream-colored or not? Or does Trump’s choice of necktie up- or downgrade his political speech? To my mind, it does not.

Don’t dress to impress, dressing appropriately is enough.

Apparently, though, fashion does play a role in politics according to numerous journalists. Lots of articles deal with Clinton’s outfits, Trump’s hair or their families’ way of dressing. The following video has, however, convinced me of the fact that Clinton and Trump themselves might choose certain shirts, neckties or suits on purpose and think that those choices help them win the elections.

YES, their outfits might contain a hidden meaning. But NO, that should not influence the way we think about their political programs!!

I’m a young woman and I’m interested in fashion. However, if I read about the most important election of the world’s third-largest country (or about political issues in general) I don’t care if Clinton wears a bright blue blouse or a pale pink pullover. Neither do I care if Donald Trump’s hair is real or fake. What does it matter? Does it influence their political skills? I don’t think so.

In my opinion, the media have made a reality show out of the electoral campaigns, and thus, even out of the 58th presidential elections. If I’m interested in who wears what and who has sex with whom, I’ll read the OK! magazine and watch Keeping Up With The Kardashians. If I watch the presidential election debates and read about the two top candidates, I don’t care what they wear, I don’t care how they have their hair cut. I care about their political intentions. Simple as that!

Forget about the gossip, focus on what really matters!

--

--